Jesus’s First Words in RED

Words in Red Image.001

Wednesday I “re-blogged” a post from the blog “laurabrookkeith.wordpress.com” (Grace Alone: Ministering to the Hearts of Women) about her Daily Dare: 40 Days to a Radical Life by studying Jesus’s words in RED.  I hope y’all looked her blog up and are keeping up with the words of Christ she finds and talks about.

But yesterday while driving down the road I wondered “What were Jesus’s first words in RED?”  So when I was in the waiting room, waiting for my car to be checked out, I pulled out my handy iPhone and started my search (before I forgot) and I really should have know this, but it was when Jesus was 12 (we assume) and him and his family traveled to the temple for Passover.  His family and lots of others people where traveling back home and his mother discovered Jesus was missing.  Any parent knows this feeling, and they started back searching for him.

When they found him back at the Temple he simply asked “Why did you seek me?” (NKJV); “Why were you searching for me?” (NIV); “Why were you looking for me?” (ESV).  Now let me say, I’m no Bible scholar and no Bible teacher and really not very smart, but I got to wondering (and I know I’m taking this all out of context, so don’t go get all freaked out on me) but I wondered, “Why do we seek Jesus?”.  Do we seek Him because we need comforting?  Do we seek Him because we want something from Him?  Maybe we are in trouble and we seek Him out asking for help.  We may be selfish in our seeking or we may be seeking Him out on the behalf of someone else that is dear to us and asking for healing. Some may be curious about Jesus and seek Him out to find out more about Him.  Some have hit rock bottom and they remember something they have heard or read about Jesus and start seeking Him then.  Some of us truly find Him. Acts 17:27 says: “so that they should seek the Lord, in the hope that they might grope for Him and find Him, though He is not far from each one of us;”.  And then the very famous verse:  Matthew 6:33, “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.” 

I also looked in the book of John and found the first recorded words of Jesus and it was after John the Baptist baptized Jesus and John and two of his disciples were following Jesus and Jesus turned and asked them,  “What do you seek?” (NKJV), “What are you seeking?” (ESV), “What do you want?” (NIV).  I found it amazing that Jesus’s first words as a young man to His parents were basically the same as it was when He finally began His ministry beginning with His baptism and asked the same questions to John and his disciples who were following Him.

I think it’s important for us to know why we are seeking Jesus.  And first and foremost we need to begin our search by seeking Him out for our salvation and start on our journey with Him as our Lord and Savior.  It’s not an easy road, we stumble and fall, some more than others, but He is there to pick us up and love us and forgive us.  It’s an amazing journey with our Lord Jesus Christ.  I’m a huge Hobbit & Lord of the Rings fan and there is a devotional, Walking with Bilbo by Sarah Arthur.  J.R.R. Tolkien referred to the travels as “adventures” and in one of Sarah’s devotionals she says: “First, we find an important distinction between adventure and misadventure.  Adventures are what happen when we’re on the right road. There will be hardships and difficulties that God allows (and designs!) to test and strengthen our character.  But if we wander off the appointed track, we set ourselves up for misadventures – bad events and poor choices that have the power to derail us from completing the journey altogether.  Clearly, adventures are a good thing; misadventures are not.”

So if we truly answer Jesus’s question “Why did you seek me?” and it is because we wanted forgiveness for our sins and we recognize Him as the One and Only Son of God and believe in Him and all the Bible says, then we will be saved and can start on the grand adventure with Jesus, our journey to study God’s Word and to get involved in a Bible believing and preaching church and start serving Jesus and growing along the way.

But don’t get too confident and think you are beyond sin, because the devil wants to ruin Christians and we have to be on our guard.  And when we fall or when other Christians fall, we need to love them back, help them up and bring them back to a good relationship with Jesus.

NOW, like I said, I’m no Bible scholar nor do I even begin to think I know much about the Bible, so I was a little scared to even write this, but it all started with my searching for Jesus’s first words and I just got carried away.  If my preacher reads this and I’ve got something terribly wrong, I do hope he will jump in with a comment and straighten me out.  I DO NOT want to say anything wrong and lead anyone astray.  I want you to seek Jesus and find Him!

I would love to hear your comments and thoughts on these “Words in RED” and why you sought out Jesus, or why you think people seek Jesus and if they are seeking Him for the right reasons.

 

 

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Just Me!

4 responses to “Jesus’s First Words in RED

  1. I think you got this just right! Shamefully, I believe I first starting seeking Jesus for what he could do for me. I saw how he worked in the lives of others around me and I wanted that too. However, over the course of my seeking I did find and fall in love with Jesus, so I guess it all worked out. Thank you for sharing on seeking I had forgotten just how important it really is to honestly seek Him and it is helping me in ways you couldn’t possibly know. God Bless!

    • So glad this post did God’s work. Seeking Him, even if for the wrong reason is good because it still led you to Jesus for a true relationship with Him. He wants everyone to be saved, and that is amazing that Jesus does not exclude anyone who honestly comes to Him. What a wonderful Savior we have!

  2. Carmen Redding

    Very we’ll said. You don’t have to be a scholar to read or share the gospel. If that were so, only those with advanced degrees would be qualified to obey the command to go and make disciples or to be saved for that matter. I love the way the Scriptures get us thinking. God speaks to us through every word and phrase. I think even people who begin by seeking Jesus for the wrong reasons are bound to fall in love with Him. The reason I say this is because as we start our search, He is also drawing us to Himself and revealing who He really is. For some the realization of who Jesus really is comes almost immediately. For others it may take years. Regardless of how long it takes, the Bible tells us that there is rejoicing in heaven for every sinner who repents.

    I enjoyed reading your thoughtful commentary. I have read those verses before and never asked myself why I sought Jesus. You’ve given us a lot to think about.

    • Wow! I loved your comment. Well said and it added much more “strength” to my post.
      I love it how we can read a Scripture for the 100th time and all of the sudden God reveals something else to us. Most of the time I get these “Wow” moments during Bible study or church, but once in a while, God gives me my very own!! 🙂
      Debbie

I would love to hear your comment!

