Remember Our Veterans Today and All They Gave

Today is a special day to honor those brave men and women who have dedicated their lives in full-time or part-time service to our country, so we can have the freedom’s we so greatly treasure and sadly take for granted.  I’m sure we all know a friend or loved one who served in or is still serving.  Let’s take the time to thank them and pray for them and their safety and God’s peace to surround them.

I have 3 very special veterans who were in my life and now they have all gone on to be with the Lord.  I wish I had taken the time to sit down with them and hear all their stories!

Reginald Reynolds, my wonderful daddy.  He served in Germany in the Korean War.

Reginald Reynolds, my wonderful daddy. He served in Germany in the Korean War.

Henry Lester, my wonderful father-in-law, who served in Italy and North Africa in WWII.

Henry Lester, my wonderful father-in-law, who served in Italy and North Africa in WWII.

Felix McElory, my husband's wonderful uncle, who served in Saipan in WWII.

Felix McElory, my husband’s wonderful uncle, who served in Saipan in WWII.

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Just Me!

9 responses to “Remember Our Veterans Today and All They Gave

  1. Great photographs, Debbie, I always find these items interesting to see. My uncle also served in the Korean War and was a POW.

    • Wow, just think…at one time or another your uncle and my dad could have crossed paths! I hope he was a POW that was released eventually and came home.
      It’s amazing what these brave men and women do. I’ll just be perfectly truthful, I’m a chicken!
      My husband had a very high draft number and he never was called for the Vietnam war and I’d always told my son that if something happened and they drafted our young men, I was going to drag him to Canada! These men and women are not the only ones that we need to respect and honor, it’s their loved ones back home! I can’t imagine.

      • That would be interesting, wouldn’t it? Yes he was released after 2 1/2 years of what he called “sorta rough” treatment. During the Vietnam War a reporter interviewed him but he declined to talk about his experiences in Korea. But his family knows a bit more. He was forced to walk for hours in circles carrying a full field pack(?). One day he couldn’t go on anymore and his friend carried him and the pack finishing up their time and therefore saving my uncle’s life.

  2. Amen! So grateful for all the veterans. My Papa served and somewhere someone still has the folded flag. My Uncle Ronald also served. Thankful for all these people and all the many others today.

    • We have my father-in-laws folded flag. I’m wondering now if my mom got one when daddy passed away. I’ll have to check. So thankful for your Papa and Uncle Ronald, so many brave men (and women) deserve our honor and respect! Thanks for sharing.
      Debbie

      • Thanks Debbie! I’m sorry to hear about your dad and father in law. It’s hard to lose a dad. I hope you find that flag! They are beautiful. Thankful for your dad and father in law. It’s because of people like them people like me can go to bed feeling safe. God bless you!

  3. Carmen

    I love these pictures. You look a lot like your Dad. He was a very handsome man. We owe all of these men a debt of gratitude for their service.

I would love to hear your comment!

