A Sure Supply For Every Need

Friday Gleanings.009

“Thy word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” (Psalm 119:105 KJV)

When I was ten years old we lived in Astoria, Queens. My Dad worked long hours to support a large family, and my mother was busy with my sisters, twin baby girls. Therefore, my brother and I were often given a list and sent out into the neighborhood to purchase various items.

There were no Supermarkets back then. If meat was on the list, we went to Ace Meat Market, where the different cuts of meat were displayed behind glass and the floor was covered with sawdust. If we wanted bologna or salami, we went to Connie’s Deli. Fish was purchased at the fish market and purchases were weighed on scales, packed in ice, and wrapped in white paper. If we wanted cheese, we went to Antoinette’s, where the cheeses hung from the ceiling. If it was aspirin we needed, we stopped at Riley’s Drugstore. It amazes me that most of the things we walked blocks to purchase can be found today under one roof and in one store.

In my younger days, I sought out spiritual food in this same way, going from one book to another, from one teacher to another, and from one philosophy to another. Then one day I realized that the spiritual food I craved was contained in one book, the Bible, the Word of God, His personal love letter to me.

Dearest Heavenly Father,

Thank you for giving us your Word. What a fountain of living water it is! We delight it in it as the psalmist of Psalm 1 delighted in the law. Thank you for sending your Son, Jesus to complete it. We promise to spend time reading, meditating and feasting on Your love letter to us this very day and every day. Keep us grounded in it, as we wait to be with you.

In the name of Jesus, the Word made flesh,

Amen

Untitled.001

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Gleanings by Carmen

I would love to hear your comment!

