I Have a Prayer Request

I did not check with this dear lady if this would be ok, but I know people and churches around Georgia (and I’m sure around the country) are praying, and I want to ask you too, to pray.  She is one of our sweet followers, Gwen. Her husband, Ray, has been diagnosed with a brain tumor.  As I understand it, he will be having surgery tomorrow and I would like to ask for  your prayers for this dear couple.

I know that God does not need our prayers for His will to be done, yet, He loves to hear from us, to bring our burdens to Him.  He will be glorified through all the prayers and all the testimonies for and about this dear man.  He’s a wonderful preacher and one of God’s precious children.  Let’s all remember him and his wife and their family as they travel this unexpected journey. God is the Great Physician, He heals, He comforts, He brings peace!

We sang this song at church this morning, He Knows My Name, and it touched me.  He does know us, by name, the very number of hairs on our heads!  He hears us when we cry and He hears us when we call to Him!  We have a wonderful Savior who is there for us even before we call, before we shed our first tear, He’s there…and He will NEVER leave us.

8 Comments

Filed under Just Me!

8 responses to “I Have a Prayer Request

  1. Carmen

    Debbie, thank you so much for posting this prayer request. I have a lot of respect for Gwen and Ray. I have good memories of Ray’s time as interim pastor at Winterville First Baptist Church. Sometimes interim pastors just come in and take care of the worship and prayer services, but because their assignment is temporary, they don’t participate in all the activities of the church. Gwen and Ray became part of the WFBC family during the short time they ministered to all of us. I feel blessed that God brought them to us and that we got to know them. I will pray for God’s tender mercy and perfect peace during the days to come. He promised never to leave us or forsake us, and I know this is especially true in the valleys of life.

  2. Praying with you Dear Sweet Friend…He has a plan!!
    k

  3. Maylin B

    Debbie, your comments were so thoughtful and I am praying for Ray and Gwen today. We may not understand all that happens in this world, but the comfort we get from our Creator is beyond description. May the peace of God reign over this precious couple today and in the days to come.

  4. Gwen Newman

    Thank you all for your prayers for us. It brought tears to my eyes knowing of the love and prayers pouring in from Winterville. An update: The biopsy was done on Monday of this week but we won’t get the results until Thursday, October 31. It is our prayer that God will use us to be a witness for Him through this. Please continue in your prayers for us, we need them.

    • I came in church a little late Sunday and just caught the tale end of the prayer for Ray. So I thought he was having actual surgery and not just a biopsy. But the prayers are still the same! We are praying for good news and for God’s peace for Ray, you and your family. I know it will seem like a long time before Oct. 31st gets her, but just praise God and go and do some wonderful things, and by that I mean, being with family, playing a board game or watching a good clean movie! Keep your hearts and minds filled with the goodness of God! You are all in our prayers, Gwen!
      Debbie

I would love to hear your comment!

