Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry (5 Stars)

Superbly Emotional Novel (5 Stars)

Every-Waking-Moment_300

Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry (Tyndale House Publishers)

Treha (Tray-uh) Langsam has no recollection of her past.  She takes stories from other people, people she works with at a nursing home, Desert Gardens of Tucson, Arizona.  Miriam Howard is the director and she’s the one who hired Treha to work there as a janitor.  But when she began to see how she interacted with the patients, she pretty much gave her free reign on letting her work with them.  She could bring them out of a mad rage, or out of a spell of complete silence.  Treha had talent.  She just had no confidence in herself and she had no past.

Then a couple of men, Devin Hills and Jonah Verwer, come by wanting to do a documentary on the older generation, to hear their stories and to put it all on film.  They knew the importance of what the older generation had gone through and all the knowledge they had accumulated over the many years they had been on this earth.  And they wanted to be the one to tell their stories.

When they first saw Treha in action they knew they had stumbled on something special.  So special they wanted to get it on video and then they, along with the director, Miriam, start trying to find out information on Treha and where she came from.  But before they could get to far, things changed at Desert Gardens and the changes were not good.

This is all you’re getting from me.  This book is so special, I can’t tell you anymore, you just have to read it, absorb it, live it, and let it soak in.  One very special scene will stick with me for life and I think sharing this quote will not hinder anything or spoil you reading the book.  Here goes:  “That verse going over and over in my head-the one people use to say God won’t give us more than we can handle.  1 Corinthians 10:13.  They think temptation and the hard stuff of life are the same.  I don’t believe that for a minute.  He does give us more than we can handle.  He lets us go through deeper waters so that we cling to him; that’s the whole point of having faith.  If we could handle everything, there would be no reason for us to need God.”  So, so true.

You have to read this book, it’s pretty different than anything I’ve read before and there are twists and turns all the way to the end.

I received a free digital copy of this book from NetGalley for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Let’s meet the author:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Chris Fabry is an award-winning author and radio personality who hosts the daily program Chris Fabry Live! on Moody Radio. He is also heard on Love Worth FindingBuilding Relationships with Dr. Gary Chapman, and other radio programs. A 1982 graduate of the W. Page Pitt School of Journalism at Marshall University and a native of West Virginia, Chris and his wife, Andrea, now live in Arizona and are the parents of nine children.

Chris’ novels, which include DogwoodJune BugAlmost HeavenNot in the HeartBorders of the Heart, and his latest release, Every Waking Moment, have won three Christy Awards and an ECPA Christian Book Award, but it’s his lyrical prose and tales of redemption that keep readers returning for more.

He has also published more than 65 other books, including nonfiction and novels for children and young adults. He coauthored the Left Behind: The Kids series with Jerry B. Jenkins and Tim LaHaye, as well as the Red Rock Mysteries and The Wormling series with Jerry B. Jenkins. RPM is his latest series for kids and explores the exciting world of NASCAR.

Here is the book trailer that I’m sure you’ll enjoy watching:

Our Women’s Book Club has had the privilege to read several of his books and we are currently reading this one for our November 2013 meeting.  I can’t wait to talk about this book with everyone!  We have a copy of this book in our Media Center for our patrons to read, but it will be held in reserve for our Book Club members until after 11/9/13.

4 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

4 responses to “Every Waking Moment by Chris Fabry (5 Stars)

  1. I am moving this one up the list to read!! Looks sooooo good!! Thank you Dear Friend!!!
    k xoxo

  2. This book really surprised me…I actually almost stopped reading it as it is not my “usual” read but I am glad I finished it. It definitely had me thinking even after I was done reading it. It had an even greater impact on me when I realized it was based loosely on the author’s own experiences. Thanks for sharing your review!

    • I know, when I started it, I was thinking “I’m not going to like this”, but then it took a hold of me and I really got caught up in it. I read it on my kindle and I have so many things highlighted that meant something to me, I just about highlighted the whole book!! I’m so glad you enjoyed it. Now, don’t you wish you could come to our book club and discuss this book with us!!!
      I may do an “on-line” book club one day…probably been done already….I’ll have to check that out.

      Have a blessed Lord’s Day!
      Debbie

I would love to hear your comment!

