A Young Boy, A Small Army, and a Light Lunch

Friday Gleanings.009

My granddaughter was a small baby. While she seems to be developing well for her age, she is still the shortest student in her 4th grade class.  Recently she complained to me about her size.  As so frequently happens when grandmothers get the opportunity to share wisdom with their grandchildren, I had nothing to offer.  However, I did not stop thinking about how I could encourage her.  Today, during my morning walk, God spoke to me.  I decided to write her a letter, which I will share here.  Though I wrote this for my granddaughter, what I have written here applies to all of us, because without God, we can do nothing.

Dear Ashley,

A few days ago you complained to me about being short.  I don’t know whether I was able to give you a good answer, but I have been thinking about it.  Grandmothers don’t always have all the answers, but the Bible does.

This week, when I was reading my Bible, I came across the story of David and Goliath.  Compared to the giant Goliath, David was very young and very small.  He was just a young shepherd boy, who had not been trained to fight.  Do you remember what happened when he faced Goliath?   Yes! He defeated the giant with one little stone.  Sometimes God uses little, even unimportant people, to do his work.

Do you remember the story of Gideon.  He had to fight a huge army of 145,000 men.  Gideon had 32,000 men, but God kept telling him he had too many men.  So after God sent home all the men who were afraid and the ones that weren’t alert and watchful, Gideon was left with only 300 men.  Which army do you think won the battle, the big army or the little army?  You guessed it! Gideon defeated the Midianites with 300 soldiers.

Do you remember the story of Jesus feeding 5000 people? He fed them with a few loaves of bread and a couple of fish. Do you remember whose lunch he used? He used a little boy’s lunch.   So don’t worry about being small.

God can use you no matter how big or small you are, but he seems to prefer to use little people, who are also humble and sometimes weak.  When God uses a small person to do great things, we know that it was God who helped them do it.  Then, God gets the glory. God made us the way we are for a reason.  Besides, I love you just the way you are and so does God.

Love, Grandmommy

Untitled.001

Dearest Heavenly Father,

Thank you for our weaknesses and imperfections.  They make us humble and yielded to you.  Thank you for using the “weak things of the world” for your glory.

In the name of Jesus, who urged us to become as little children,

Amen.

1 Comment

Filed under Friday Gleanings by Carmen

One response to “A Young Boy, A Small Army, and a Light Lunch

  1. Oh Thank you Carmen for such wonderful encouragement. Love the message!!
    You are such a loving Grandmother!!

    Mine meant the world to me!:)
    Keep serving Him well Dear Friend,
    k

I would love to hear your comment!

