Friends, Food, Fellowship and Fiction – September 21, 2013

Untitled.001

For Every Season (Amish Vines and Orchards, Book 3) by Cindy Woodsmall

Once again we had the best time talking about this book.  This is the third in the series and thankfully, there will be a fourth! If not, I do believe we would have all jumped in a van and driven to see Cindy and got down on our hands and knees pleading for more!!!

We had tons of great food, just like always, but I was first in line (I don’t know why that always happens) and I was totally amazed when I got to a beautiful plate of apple strudel and laying on the plate was this cute little box with a cellophane cutout on top and you could see some more of the apple strudel inside.  The label on the box said “Orchard Bend Farms”.  I just stood there dumbfounded.  I’m like…what?  where did this come from?  Someone from the back of the line said “Maine” and then it’s like I had entered the Twilight Zone…I felt like I’d finally read so much fiction that I had actually entered into the book!  Finally, they drew me out of my stupor (they wanted food) and told me that Judy had the idea and Joanne made the box and label and bought the apple strudel from Publix!  I wish I had thought to get a picture of it.  It was just PERFECT!

After eating all the delicious food, we moved to the living room and sat down with our books/kindles and Carmen passed out our questions.  Once again we were all…Team Jacob and Team Samuel.  Although I will admit by the end of the book, I switched teams.  We were all talking, laughing, and having the best time and we wondered what Cindy Woodsmall would think of us as we discussed this book!  She would have love it!!!  Carmen did a great job, as usual with our handouts and questions and leading us in our discussion.

We are going to have to wait for Book 4, it doesn’t come out until April 2014, so we will be reading three other books for our November and January and March meetings.

Carmen has decided on Chris Fabry’s latest book for our November 9th meeting at Sylvia S. home.  The name of the book is, Every Waking Moment.  We will meet at 9:30am for breakfast and then, I’m sure, another lively discussion with lots of laughter and love!

Carmen will be ordering the books soon, so please let her know to order you one.  You can also download your own copy on your e-reader, or buy a copy at The Carpenter’s Shop (last week they had some in stock).  We also have a copy in the Media Center, so if you plan on reading that book, COME IN THIS WEEK and get your name on the list.  We only have one book and about 4-5 people who need to read it, so we have to get going and read fast!

If you are going to download your own copy on your e-reader, wait until 10/20 – 10/26, because Tyndale House will have it on sale for $1.99 on just about any e-reader you have!  So, this is a great deal that I hope you can take advantage of, thanks Tyndale!!!

Here’s the trailer to the book:

2 Comments

Filed under Book Club Photos, Women's Book Club

2 responses to “Friends, Food, Fellowship and Fiction – September 21, 2013

  1. Lovely and the trailer is so nice.
    k 🙂

  2. This book is so different from most of the books on the market. If you read it, I’d like to know what you think.

I would love to hear your comment!

