Interview with Christian Author – Elizabeth Ludwig – and Book Giveaway!

Y’all are in for a treat today!  We have a fantastic interview with Christian author, Elizabeth Ludwig.  Her current series that is out, The Edge of Freedom, has two books already and I’m eagerly waiting for the third book next year!!   She has generously donated an autographed copy of, Dark Road Home, as our giveaway this week: 9/23 – 9/27 (the winner will be selected on 9/28).

Enter to win an autographed copy of this book!  9/23 through 9/27

Enter to win an autographed copy of this book! 9/23 through 9/27

I have been in contact with her through email and she is one of the sweetest people you’d ever want to meet!  So, let’s get to the interview so you can “meet” her too!

Elizabeth Ludwig

Elizabeth Ludwig (Isn’t she beautiful?)

Here’s Elizabeth’s Bio:

Elizabeth Ludwig is the award-winning author of No Safe Harbor and Dark Road Home, Books One and Two in the Edge of Freedom series. Her popular literary blog, The Borrowed Book, enjoys a wide readership. Elizabeth is an accomplished speaker and teacher, often attending conferences and seminars where she lectures on editing for fiction writers, crafting effective novel proposals, and conducting successful editor/agent interviews. Along with her husband and children, she makes her home in the great state of Texas. To learn more, visit ElizabethLudwig.com.

Let’s get to know Elizabeth better through this interview:

The Edge of Freedom series is about Irish immigrants coming to New York.  Are you an Irish descendent that immigrated or does this era just fascinate you?

Hey, Debbie! First, let me start by saying I’m so thrilled to be on your blog, and I can’t wait to talk with your readers!

Now, to business.

Though many of my ancestors emigrated from Europe, I am not Irish. I am part Spaniard, part Mexican, and 100% American! LOL! My husband’s family, however, does have some Irish blood, as well as German and Dutch. I guess that’s why I wanted to write a story about immigrants—to do our ancestors justice and make them proud!

It would seem like writing an historical novel would take a lot of research.  How much time did it take you to research this book?

Oh my goodness…by far, this series has involved more research than any I have ever had to do. Part of that was simply because the saga carries across two continents. Not only was researching New York City in 1897, I was researching Ireland and everything that was happening there during the same time period. Fortunately, I stumbled across the Ellis Island Foundation’s website, which helped me immensely. I also found and studied a wonderful PBS production called Forgotten Ellis Island, which provided such an interesting look into America’s history.

I’m always interested in author’s process of writing a book.  How do you come up with your ideas?  Do you plan the whole story out or just start writing and see where it takes you?

It’s a little of both, I think. I always start out with a detailed timeline, but every now and then, inspiration strikes, and the story takes off in a direction I didn’t see coming. For example, in No Safe Harbor, when Douglas Healy comes to visit the boarding house, I really had to stop and ask myself what he was doing there. It was in my timeline, but his motivation for being there, and what he would say when he arrived, those things eluded me. Finally, inspiration took over, and I realized he wouldn’t lie about why he came. He would do something even more shocking—he would tell the truth. Not only was it believable, it was a stunning twist that readers have told me totally caught them off guard.

Where do you like to write?  At a desk or sitting in a comfy chair?  Desktop computer or laptop?

We have a room in our house that is very comfortable and private—no TV, no phones, no distractions whatsoever. It’s decorated like an old-fashioned parlor, and I absolutely love it because it transports me to another era. And of course, there’s my comfy red chair…

Elizabeth's "quiet room" with her comfy red chair!

Elizabeth’s “quiet room” with her comfy red chair!

So far there are two books in this series, No Safe Harbor #1, and Dark Road Home #2.  When will book 3 be released?  I can’t wait!  Can you tell us something about Book 3?

Book 3 in the series, Tide and Tempest, releases in February, 2014, and believe it or not, I’m as excited about it’s release as you are!! Originally, I had intended for Edge of Freedom to be a two book series, so this was the only story that wasn’t planned. It has turned out to be my favorite. I love, love, love this hero and heroine—Keondric and Tillie. Their story amazed me, and their love was just phenomenal to write.

Also, I share a common grief with Tillie—the loss of a child. I think that’s why she resonated with me so deeply. I really hope her triumph over guilt and grief speaks to readers.

The Edge of Freedom Series by Elizabeth Ludwig

The Edge of Freedom Series by Elizabeth Ludwig

How many books have you written and are they all historical? 

All told, I have eight books to my credit, with two more to come in 2014. They are not all historical, in fact, I started out writing cozy mysteries (think Murder She Wrote starring Angela Lansbury). From there, I went to writing Contemporary Romance, and then finally came full circle to my first love, which was Historical Romance with more than a touch of Suspense. Readers can find a complete list of my books here.

What’s your favorite genre when you have time to sit down and read?

Definitely Romantic Suspense. Definitely. Definitely Romantic Suspense.

Who’s your favorite author?

Oh, this is hard. I love several—Dani Pettry, Jessica Dotta, Michelle Griep…they are all fabulous storytellers, but if I had to pick a favorite, I would probably say Francine Rivers. She influenced how I right early, and I’ve admired her ever since.

What are you reading now? 

I just finished A Heart Deceived by Michelle Griep. It’s an amazing book by a very talented writer. And I love that it has that Gothic Regency type feel that I try to infuse in my own books.

If you could go anywhere in the whole world for a vacation, where would it be?

Ireland. Absolutely. I would love to see and taste the culture that I’ve spent so much time researching.

What’s your favorite Bible verse and why?

My favorite scripture, one I sign all my books with, is from Habakkuk 2:2-3. It says:

2 Then the LORD answered me and said: “Write the vision and make it plain on tablets, that he may run who reads it. 3 For the vision is yet for an appointed time; But at the end it will speak, and it will not lie. Though it tarries, wait for it; because it will surely come, it will not tarry.

I received these verses at a time when I was really questioning my call to write. Now, it is a reminder to me that God is faithful to complete the good work HE has begun.

What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done?

LOL! Well, anyone who knows me would say, what day is it, cuz she does crazy stuff all the time. Just recently, I was sitting at The Cheesecake Factory, and Shaquille O’Neal walked by. For a second, I was too stunned to say anything, but then, I saw him start down the stairs. From my vantage point, I could see him hop up onto the hand rail, as though he wanted to slide down. For a split second, our eyes met, and then I sorta growled, “Dooo it!”

He just smiled, and slid down the railing! LOLOL!

Shaquille O'Neal and his ride down the hand rails!

Shaquille O’Neal and his ride down the hand rails!

If you could meet one person, living or dead, who would it be and why?

There are many people I would love to meet, but I think I’d like to chat with George W. Bush about his faith, his family, and his presidency.

Is there anything else you would like our readers to know about you?

I have a website at www.elizabethludwig.com and a blog at www.theborrowedbook.blogspot.com, but my favorite place to connect is still on facebook. I hope you’ll stop by!

Quick, Quirky Questions:

Are you a list maker? Always.

Do you like to cook? Love it. Wish I knew how.

What’s your favorite food? Pizza. Or Pasta. Or M&M’s. Oh, and seafood.

Do you have a pet? Dachshunds! Four of them. LOL!

What’s your favorite color? Black and Gold, especially when worn by the Steelers.

What’s your favorite holiday? Christmas.

Do you have a hobby? Knitting! And skiing. Sometimes both at the same time.

Elizabeth, I feel like I got to know the “real you” while reading this interview.  I loved your answers and finding out about your talent for skiing and knitting at the same time! LOL!!!!  

Thank you so much for being with us today and for being so generous by donating an autographed book for our giveaway.  I know everyone that comments will be looking forward to your comments back to them.  That makes it SO special!  

Now for the autographed book giveaway:

Enter to win an autographed copy of this book!  9/23 through 9/27

Enter to win an autographed copy of this book! 9/23 through 9/27

  1. You must be 18 years or older and be a U.S. resident.
  2. Leave a comment in the comment section at the end of THIS post.  One entry per person.
  3. We will randomly compile a list of everyone who made a comment and will draw a name on 9/28/13.  We will then notify you by email giving you further instructions on collecting your free book.  DO NOT include your personal mailing address in your comment for security reasons.
  4. If we do not hear back from you in 5 days, we will draw another winner.
  5. Please allow 2-3 weeks for book delivery. And we can’t be held responsible for lost books, sorry! (So far, everyone who has won a book has received it.  Way to go USPS!!!)
  6. If you win the book it would be really great if you could come back to this post after you have read it and tell us what you thought about the book.
103 Comments

Filed under Featured Author & Book Giveaway

103 responses to “Interview with Christian Author – Elizabeth Ludwig – and Book Giveaway!

  1. Thanks for posting this!! I look forward to reading her books. They all sound really interesting. (I am not entering the giveaway)

  2. Good morning!! She sounds like a fun lady!! 🙂

  3. I enjoyed this interview with Elzabeth. Her trilogy sounds wonderful. I too enjoy reading about immigrants who came to Ellis Island. There are so many true stories of success once they arrived, but also the hardships many went through. It’s fun to read about other writers and their favorite things, foods, writing spots. Thanks for sharing Elizabeth with us, Debbie.
    Blessings~ Diane

    • Thanks for visiting! Her books are great. Historical, romantic suspense at it’s best! Thanks for the great comment and for entering the giveaway.
      Debbie

      • Joanne

        Elizabeth sounds like someone we all should meet! Can’t resolve in my mind the conglomeration of Texas, Steelers football, and sking LOL! I am moving her books up on reading list and bumping aside the top one that I had on my list! I love historical fiction. Move over for Lugwig!

        • Joanne, thanks for stopping by! Wouldn’t you love to see Elizabeth knit and ski at the same time…LOL!!! She’s a hoot and if she didn’t live so far away it would be great to have her at one of our Book Club meetings!! Thanks for entering the giveaway!
          Debbie

          • Aww, Debbie…that’s a tease. I love, love, love speaking to book clubs, because if anyone is a fan of reading, those people are. Wish I lived closer!

            • Me too! We have such a great time at our Book Club. We are all such a good fit and love to jump in and talk about the book we are reading and we’ll all be talking at the same time. Some “kind-hearted” disagreements on who should fall in love with this or that person. We do have some very lively discussion and we are always laughing like crazy!! I think you would have a blast with us!
              Debbie

          • Joanne Allen

            Debbie – Don’t dismiss a visit because of distance. Brenda M. wants to talk to you about a possibilty! Be sure to see her this Sunday!!!

        • YEAH!! LOL! Thanks, Joanne. This post made me smile.

          Okay, so here’s the tale…I’m originally from Michigan, which explains the skiing. Actually, it also explains the football. 😉 (Sorry, Lions fans, but you know it’s true).

          We moved to Texas back in 1996, when the plant my husband worked for shut down. Fortunately, they offered transfers to anyone who wanted to stay with the company. My parents were originally from Texas, and I still had family who lived here, so here we are!

          Elizabeth

    • Awww…thank you, Diane. I’m glad to hear there are others like me who find this period of history so fascinating.

      Elizabeth

  4. Paula Osborne

    Hello Ladies, I enjoyed reading about Elizabeth here, love the pic above. I too like the little weiner dogs, can’t imagine having 4 at once though. I have read the first in this series and absolutely loved it, look forward to reading the rest of the stories. Thank you for all your research that lets us learn about history while we read a wonderful fictional story.
    I would like to be in your drawing, thanks for sharing
    Paula O(kyflo130@yahoo.com)

    • (laughing) Paula…you have no idea. Dachshunds are a challenging breed, for sure, but they are also so personable and lovable! Every once in a while, I have to admit that living with four doxies is like living in a dog pound, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I call them my “puppy therapy”. LOL!

      So glad you enjoyed No Safe Harbor. Good luck in the drawing!

      Elizabeth

    • Thanks for visiting and entering the giveaway. My sister-in-law is a dachshund fan, I know she’s had 3 at one time, she may have even had 4 at once. Now she just has two and she loves them so much!
      Debbie

  5. Carol Umfer

    Ms. Ludwig your interview was very enjoyable. Especially that you are a Steelers fan. By any chance did you see the game yesterday? Certaintly would like to read your books. I had entered GoodReads giveaway in July but wasn’t chosen. My grandfather came through Ellis Island and buildt a life here for his family of 7 children. If I should have the privledge of winning I will be glad to write a review.

    • I’m sorry…Ms. Ludwig is mourning. She will be unavailable until the Steelers get their first win…

      JK! LOL! So frustrating! Just when they looked like they were going to get their game together, too. 😦

      Best of luck, Carol. Thank you so much for stopping by.

      • Elizabeth, you are so funny! I’m not a sports fan, but your comment was totally funny!!!
        Carol, thanks for stopping by and reading this great interview with Elizabeth. That’s so neat that you know your grandfather came through Ellis Island, I know very little about my family history. You’re entered in the giveaway and if you do win, I know Elizabeth will be excited to have you review her book!
        Debbie

  6. Paulette Anderson

    This is my favorite kind of novel – history, mystery and romance! I’m currently enjoying a tv series set in NYC right after the Civil War. Definitely
    going to purchase and enjoy this Elizabeth Ludwig series. Can hardly wait!

  7. Thank you for introducing me to this author and her books. They look like some that would really enjoy reading.

  8. Gwen Newman

    The book covers captured my attention and the interview was great. I look forward to reading all of her books.

  9. Patty H

    I think I have a copy of No Safe Harbor in my TBR stack somewhere! Guess I need to move it up the stack so I am ready to read this one if I win!
    Fun interview ladies, thanks!

  10. Great interview! I haven’t read “No Safe Harbor” or “Dark Road Home” yet, but I have them on my shelf waiting for when I finally have time to read them. 🙂 It was fun getting to know you better, Elizabeth!

    Melanie
    http://christianbookshelfreviews.blogspot.com/

    *not an entry*

  11. What a great interview! It’s nice to get to know you, Elizabeth! I really enjoyed No Safe Harbor, and I’m looking forward to reading Dark Road Home. Thanks for all the enjoyable hours you give us through your fiction.

  12. Wilani Wahl

    I have not read any of your books, but I have now added them to my wish list. I would love to win a copy of this book.

  13. Heather Olsen

    Great interview! I look forward to reading this series.

  14. Nicole Sager

    These books look really good. Looking forward to reading them! Thank you for hosting a giveaway!

  15. Hey Debbie….LOVED the interview!! I can’t wait to read Elizabeth’s books…she is just lovely. Loved the story about Shaq!! 🙂
    Thank you soooo much for sharing!!
    k

  16. Susan P

    Oh my goodness, 4 doxies?? I have enough gray hair from just living with our one. 🙂 They sure are a different breed – but so fiercely loyal you can’t help but LOVE them. Wonderful interview! I am a MI native also and know your love of skiing here. The knitting part – well, I’ll leave that up to you. 🙂
    lattebooks at hotmail dot com

  17. Reblogged this on Healthy Living 4 Him and commented:
    Hello Dear Friends,
    A Sweet Dear Friend has this interview on her blog. She is so kind and generous to give away books!! I thought I would share with all of you. If you feel led, enter for the book give away. What a blessing!! 🙂

    This author is lovely!! I wanted to share with all you Dear Friends. 🙂
    Enjoy,
    k xoxo

  18. Sounds like a great story. I’d love to get this book. Thanks for the interesting interview.

  19. Paulette- Harper Johnson

    Great interview. I’d like to read one of her books

  20. Jackie McNutt

    Really enjoyed your interview. Your books will be on my to read list. I too have family from Ireland and share on your thoughts about seeing it. Your characters sound very interesting. Also you are so lucky to have four dachshunds I have one but want more!! Thanks for sharing your look into your books.

    • Thanks, Jackie. I’ve considered changing my name to “Dachshunds and the People Who Love Them”, but that would be really hard to sign in an autograph, so I think I’ll just stick to Elizabeth for now.

    • Jackie, thanks for stopping by and reading the interview. Elizabeth is a very special lady and I can’t wait to read more books by her. Since I don’t know where my family came from (sometimes I think we are transplanted aliens :). But a friend of my mom’s took her whole family on a trip to Ireland a few years ago and they got to see their ancestral land, it was a trip that whole family will never forget. I got to do a DVD slide show with all their pictures for them and I’ll never forget their trip either. Makes me want to go!! Maybe one day you can go. Thanks again for entering the giveaway.
      Debbie

  21. Great interview, Debbie and Elizabeth. I feel as if I know Elizabeth a little bit more than I did before. I enjoyed reading all the questions and answers. I am really looking forward to reading this series. I think stories about Irish immigrants are fascinating. I enjoyed BJ Hoff’s Emerald Ballad Series about Ireland and Irish immigrants to New York, but it was written in the mid-19th century time frame. I also loved the movie Far and Away with Nicole Kidman and Tom Cruise. Kathleen Maher’s recent novella, Bachelor Buttons is a sweet story. Thank you for offering a copy of Dark Road Home.
    may_dayzee@yahoo.com

    • Kay, thanks for visiting and entering the giveaway. I’m glad you enjoyed getting to know Elizabeth better, I did too! I read B. J. Hoff’s series too and really enjoyed them. My husband enjoyed Far And Away, but I couldn’t get past Tom Cruise with that fake accent, it just bothered me the whole movie, but I’m glad my hubby liked it. I’m sure it was a great movie. I haven’t heard of Kathleen Maher, I’ll have to check her out.
      Debbie

    • I’m so glad, KayM! These interviews are so great, especially when readers feel like they’ve connected in some way. Thank you so much for stopping by, and good luck!

      Elizabeth

  22. Loved the interview! Can’t wait to read the third book! The scripture verse is perfect. How timely and wonderful. God does send us just what we need when He believes we need it. 🙂

  23. I had an obsessive phase with Ireland fairly recently, and even barreled through the monstrous book Princes of Ireland. This series looks interesting, and a bit of a lighter read! 😉

  24. Maylin B

    I have tried several times to send a comment to you. It says my comment was not allowed!! What did I do wrong? I tried to tell you how delightful, charming and funny you are. I talked about buying your books because I didn’t want to wait for the list ahead of me at the Media Center to dwindle down. I talked about the O’Neal episode you wrote about and how much I enjoyed seeing that in my mind. Debbie and I have had a lot of joy discussing your talents and your warmness. Thank you for the time you spent on the interview. It makes us want to meet you in person!!!

  25. Now, isn’t this the funniest thing??? All of a sudden, my comments are showing up as “Elizabeth Ludwig” instead of my old user name. And I haven’t changed a thing!! LOL!

  26. Debra Smith

    I would love to win. This book sounds awesome. Thanks for the giveaway! Have a nice day!

  27. Karen Mathews

    Loved the interview. You and I have a lot in common – Francine. RIivers is a fav of mine. I am a fan of “Murder She Wrote”. I have not had the privilege to read any of your books but I will explore and put it on my to-read-list!

  28. sylvia j. stogden

    Hey Debbie — enjoyed this fun and interesting interview – my first ever — win or lose I will be reading this series and any other books by Elizabeth – Maybe one day we will get to meet her — where would anyone want to be but at one of our food, fun and fellowship days discussing the latest book we read — it’s like being at home – everyone talking at the same time 🙂 🙂
    God Bless 🙂
    sylvia

I would love to hear your comment!

