We Were Nominated for the “Sunshine Award”!

Another award!  I truly am shocked, but thrilled to be nominated for this “happy” award.  I do pray that this blog will be a light in the darkness and lead everyone who stops by to seek Jesus!  He’s the true “SONshine”!!!

sunshine-award

I want to thank healthyliving4him.wordpress.com for nominating our blog for this award.  I love her blog and just discovered it through the Liebester award and I’m glad I did.  So, friends, look at these blogs we have listed and you will find some great people with great blogs out there just waiting for you to find them!

Basically, The Sunshine Award recognizes bloggers whose writings “light up the dark corners of our minds”.

Here are the RULES:

(1) Thank the person who gave you the award in your blog post.

(2) Do the Q&A below.

(3) Pass on the award to 10 – 12 deserving and inspiring bloggers, inform them and link to their blogs.

My answers are as follow…

Favorite color? I’ve always thought it was blue, but I love purple too…but not just blue or purple, it has to be that perfect shade that makes me smile.

Favorite animal? This is a very hard question and I may even get some “hate mail” from this, but I don’t like animals.  It’s really crazy, but when I was a teenager I loved animals and wanted to live on a farm with every kind of animal there was.  I don’t know what happened to that teenager, but she’s not me anymore.  We’ve had our share of cats, dogs, fish, and even a pet squirrel (yep, my husband found him fallen from his nest and we assumed his mom was dead, because we had seen a dead squirrel a few days earlier-compliments of our cat!) And he put him in a cage and feed him puppy formula through a dropper and played with that little creature and they became the best of friends.  After a month and a half, he let him go in our yard and “Earl the Squirrel” went straight back to his previous nest.  He then started making his own nest every few months in different trees in our yard (we have a mainly wooded 2 acre lot) and he would usually come when called or come when you walked outside.  My hubby would sit down and play with him, scratch him, feed him sunflower seeds and pecans.  It was really amazing!  But he disappeared after about a year and a half.  We think something happened to him, because Earl had it too good to leave on his own. A dog killed our cat and then I told my husband that when I died he could have all the animals he wants.  But for now, he’ll just have to be satisfied with “dog-sitting” our two grandson’s little dog, Lucy!

Earl the Squirrel

Earl the Squirrel

Favorite number?  I have never thought about it, so I have no idea!

Favorite nonalcoholic drink? Sweet tea!  But I drink it seldom now, opting for water or plain un-sweet tea…I haven’t lost ONE POUND by doing this.  So don’t believe it when you read those articles that tell you if you cut out “such and such” you can lose so many pounds in a year!  Baloney!

Favorite alcoholic drink? I don’t drink.

Facebook or Twitter? I guess if I have to pick, I know a little more about FaceBook and use it more.  I’m still trying to figure out Twitter.  I can read the tweets on my account and have even re-tweeted (which I think is a huge accomplishment) but I have only actually posted a handful on my very own.  I still don’t understand it all.

My Passions? I do love Jesus, and I want Him to be my true passion, but I must confess that I’m still working on it.  I feel like Peter when Jesus asked him 3 times if he loved Him.  Oh Lord, keep asking and I pray that each time I will love you more and more!  My earthly passions are my family, my friends, my church, our Media Center and reading!!!  Of course, I have some TV shows that I really like too!  But here again, they don’t need to be my passion, it’s ok to like them, but my main passion needs to be Jesus!

Giving or Receiving Gifts? I love to give and make people happy.  And giving doesn’t always involve money, you can give of yourself in so many ways…just being with a friend who has had a bad day and making her laugh her head off and forget about her troubles…that’s a great gift I love to give!  That’s the kind of gift I like to receive too!

And since I have an annoying gnat flying around me and my computer, I decided to make up my own question and answer it and ask it of you.

What insect to your really hate?  Gnats!!!!

Now it’s my turn to nominate blogs who encourage me and make me smile!  I know some of them don’t like accepting awards, and if you don’t it won’t hurt my feelings  and some of you may have already won this award – I just want to nominate you to let you know that I love reading your blogs and you make me happy and smile!

Bloggers, if you accept let me know so I can visit your blog and read the answers to these questions and get to know you better!

scribblescriptsandsuch.blogspot.com

authorjodiwoody.com

lesleymcdaniel.wordpress.com/blog/

mustlovereading.wordpress.com

inspireddaybyday.wordpress.com

laurabrookekeith.wordpress.com

brittreadsfiction.wordpress.com

edifier1.wordpress.com

dmentink.wordpress.com

karinasussanto.wordpress.com

P.S.  I just want you to know that I burned my cornbread while doing this blog post!  So smile, because last night we ate at Cracker Barrel and my husband complained that the cornbread muffins were a little bit too done…just wait until he sees what I have for him tonight!!  🙂

8 Comments

Filed under Just Me!

8 responses to “We Were Nominated for the “Sunshine Award”!

  1. Carmen

    Debbie, you are so funny. I thoroughly enjoyed reading the answers to the blog questions. I think I have been one of the friends you have made laugh during hard times. I just want you to know I appreciate your gift.

  2. Congratulations!!! I am so glad you won it 🙂 Love your answers- made me laugh 😀 And I also love your nominations!! Looking forward to discovering new blogs!

  3. Wow thank you for the nomination! I promise I will get around to filling out my Liebster Award and now my Sunshine Award soon! It’s kinda crazy over here as the new school year begins and I’m trying to settle myself into a regular routine 🙂

  4. Great answer to “giving” Debbie – that is SO true.

    Thank you a MILLION times for giving this award to Dreaming Under the Same Moon, Debbie! I am not sure if or when, I’d get this posted on the blog but wanted to be sure to answer your Q’s, so I’m leaving them here (hope that’s okay!).

    Okay, so here we go…

    1. Favorite color? Right now, shades of jade

    2. Favorite animal? Since I am not really an animal person, I don’t know… I suppose a kitten – they’re so cute!

    3. Favorite number? Not sure, I’ve ever considered a favorite number but I was optimistic that I’d buckle down and finish things this year because it ended on lucky 13. Yeah… that sort of went out the window! 😉

    4. Favorite nonalcoholic drink? Iced tea or cherry Coke

    5. Favorite alcoholic drink? None; nothing good ever comes from it in my experience, so drinking has never been something I wished to indulge in.

    6. Facebook or Twitter? Twitter – everything I’ve heard about FB is less than complimentary.

    7. My Passions? Writing, Spending time with Family and Reading – not necessarily in that order. 😉

    8. Giving or Receiving Gifts? Giving – there is something so special about finding that perfect something for someone. Or as Debbie pointed out, just BEING there or DOING something for something – giving isn’t always about material things.

    THANK YOU!

    • Thanks for letting me learn more about you! I’ve found another person who’s not an animal person! I feel like I’ve found a kindred spirit. It’s not that I hate them, I totally hate to see them abused or neglected, I just don’t want to be responsible for them anymore. They cramp my style!! Now, if a small, dog, that didn’t shed and didn’t smell and could go to the toilet….I might consider it! Ha!
      I loved your answers, thanks so much for doing them and maybe one day you’ll have time to do this for your blog, it is a lot of work! I doubt I’ll do it again!
      Debbie

I would love to hear your comment!

