A Life Lived Full and Well

Friday Gleanings.009

Dear friends,

Today I take one more step toward the middle of my sixth decade.  It seems like just yesterday, I was excited about celebrating my third birthday.  My first memories of church are of trying to see the altar through a wall of tall adults.  Was it that long ago?

It seems like only yesterday I went to school for the first time.  I can still remember the excitement of opening the crisp pages of a brand new reading book.  I can still remember how exciting it was to put those first words on paper with a newly sharpened pencil.  I can still picture my first grade teacher’s smile.

Has it been so long since I crunched autumn leaves with my cousins or had snowball fights with my brothers?  Has it been that long since we found new lives in states far removed from one another?  One day I was in college.  Then I was a bride saying I do, and before I knew it, a mother cradling a little girl.

How did I get from Delancey Street to the Bronx, and from the Bronx to Queens, from Queens to Puerto Rico and New Jersey, and finally to Winterville, Georgia? I don’t know the answers to these questions, and perhaps I don’t even want an explanation.  Maybe I just want to marvel and be grateful today for every wonderful moment of my life.  I am thankful for each and every day and for every person God has given me to know and love.  Today I feel rich in years and rich in love.

Slide for 8-16-13 Devotional.001

Dearest Heavenly Father,

Before we existed, you knew us.  Thank you for keeping us close to you all these years.  Thanks for being with us in the valley and on the mountain top. Thank you for our families and many loved ones, especially those who belong to the Body of Christ.  We praise you, Lord for every day you have given us. We thank you for today and any future days you see fit to add to our lives.  May they be for your glory!

In the name of Jesus, who is from everlasting to everlasting,

Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Gleanings by Carmen

I would love to hear your comment!

