Does Anyone Remember These? I’m Not Ashamed To Say I Do!

This little walk down memory lane began with a search for a book by Victoria Holt for our featured author, Jennifer Erin Valent.  She read her books when she was younger and I felt for sure that I would have a copy.  I didn’t find Victoria Holt, but I did find these books!  It took me back, way back and it was an enjoyable trip.  I just wanted to share the books (most are books made from TV/Movies, of which I watched!)  Yes, go ahead and judge me if you want, but I loved those shows.  Still do, although I now realize The Monkeys was really, really silly!  But hey, I was a teenager in love with Davy Jones!

I know these have nothing to do with Christian books, but they are books.  And this is my “Just Me” column and I am sometimes a little bit crazy! 🙂

Let me know if anyone remembers these shows/books, so I won’t feel like the only one in the world who is old enough and in one case crazy enough to have loved them!

I loved Annette's beach movies!

I loved Annette’s beach movies!

Do you remember watching her movies?  Does anyone remember reading this book?

The Monkeys, yes I'm embarrassed now...but then??? I loved that show!

The Monkeys, yes I’m embarrassed now…but then??? I loved that show!

Please tell me that someone else watched this crazy, silly show!  And if you did, which one of the Monkeys did you like best?  And did you buy a book too?

I even have their album...thought I had more, maybe I have some singles.

I even have their album…thought I had more, maybe I have some singles.

The show may be silly, but the songs are still great!

Who doesn't like Doris Day and Brian Keith!

Who doesn’t like Doris Day and Brian Keith!

I think I’ve seen every movie with Doris Day and probably most of Brian Keith’s movies…but I think my favorite of his was, The Parent Trap, and the TV show, Family Affair!  Remember those?

I know Sally Fields hated this show, but it was like chocolate candy to me when I was in my teens!

I know Sally Fields hated this show, but it was like chocolate candy to me when I was in my teens!

I’ll even admit that I have the first season of The Flying Nun on DVD!  Yes, I’m crazy! 🙂

This is the Flying Nun album!  See I was a fan!

This is the Flying Nun album! See I was a fan!

I was such a fan, I thought about leaving my Baptist faith and joining the Catholic church to become a nun and go to Puerto Rico!  I wasn’t really serious, but it was a daydream!  My daughter actually got to go to Puerto Rico, oh how jealous I was.  Now you know for sure that I’m crazy!

This was not a TV show or movie, but I loved these silly letters.

This was not a TV show or movie, but I loved these silly letters.

Does anyone remember this book?  Please tell me I’m not the only one!  

Here’s a letter from camp:

Dear Folks,

One of the boys broke his leg.  They had a big fire in the recreation hall.  My counselor had his appendix out.  The boy in the bed next to me almost drowned.  The water pipe broke in the kitchen and they had a flood.  A tree fell down when the lightening hit it and they found a big rat in one of the bunks.  Nothing else is new.

Love,

Peter

I hope you have enjoyed this walk down memory lane with me.  Do you have some memory lane stories to share?

Debbie

6 Comments

Filed under Just Me!

6 responses to “Does Anyone Remember These? I’m Not Ashamed To Say I Do!

  1. I don’t recognize many, but I do recognize that Anette book! I think I had the same one, passed down to me from my mum or an aunty. I wonder where it is? Great collection 🙂

  2. Carmen

    I loved Annette and her movies with Frankie Avalon. I even liked her on The Mickey Mouse club. Do you remember Spin and Marty? I think Annette was on that show. Another Disney show I loved was Zorro (the masked man who made the sign of the Z. I wasn’t into The Monkeys so much, but my sisters loved that show. However, we still had a black and white TV and the reception was grainy, and The Monkeys spoke Spanish because we were living in Puerto Rico. Do you remember the Maxwell Smart spy show? It was silly in English, but hilarious in Spanish. I never watched The Flying Nun when it premiered, but I watched all the reruns. I loved that show.

    • Yes I remember The Mickey Mouse Club, but not Spin and Marty (I’ll have to look that one up, maybe the name just isn’t ringing a bell with me). I do remember Maxwell Smart, loved that show too, Get Smart, I bet that was fun watching in Spanish. I can’t imagine watching The Monkeys talking Spanish! I doubt the Flying Nun was shot in Puerto Rico, but I still like to believe it was. I remember Zorro but I don’t remember it too much. All I think of now is Antonio Banderas as Zorro.
      What about Gilligan’s Island? Man From U.N.C.L.E? I Spy? I could go on all day!

  3. Gwen Newman

    At that time, I was into movies and TV more than books. I remember many of these. Thank you for the trip.

I would love to hear your comment!

