Jennifer Erin Valent Interview and Book Giveaway-Make a Comment on This Post to be Entered in the Giveaway!

August Giveaway August 1-10, 2013

August Giveaway – Autographed Copy
August 1-10, 2013

I am so excited to have Jennifer Erin Valent be our August Featured Author.  I first heard of her back in November 2010 when Carmen picked her book, Fireflies in December, for our January 2011 Book Club.  After the first sentence in that book, I was hooked.  We ended up reading the entire series for our Book Club and the highlight of our July 2011 meeting (Cottonwood Whispers #2) was having a conference call with Jennifer.  It was so amazing to talk to her and ask her questions about her book, her writings and her life.  We were all thrilled! One member was so impressed, I think she told everyone she knew about these books. I asked her to write a little something for this post, here is what Zu wrote:

“Jennifer Erin Valent has a gift for making you long for the leisurely days of swimming holes, tire swings and sweet tea. However, that longing for days of old must be tempered with the remembrance of the brutal hatred and fear that existed, and sadly still does.

As the WFBC Book Club was getting ready to read Book Two, Cottonwood Whispers, I checked out, Fireflies in December, my first introduction to Jessilyn Lassiter. From the opening line, “The summer I turned thirteen, I thought I’d killed a man… ” I was hooked! In fact, as I devoured the book and had to wait for my turn to check out Cottonwood Whispers, I started thinking of all the things I wanted to ask Ms. Valent starting with “How do you come up with such fantastic opening lines?” Imagine my joy when she agreed to call us during our book meeting and I was actually able to ask her that very question. In fact, when I finished the last page of Catching Moondrops, the final and very satisfying finish to the series, I emailed Jennifer to ask her if it was as hard for her to say goodbye to the characters as it was for me.

I am thrilled that Jennifer Erin Valent has agreed to be part of our featured author book giveaway and I urge you to get your hands on Fireflies in December, Cottonwood Whispers and Catching Moondrops. Go ahead, it’s ok… get lost in this satisfying coming of age story of Jessilyn Lassiter. PS…Follow Jennifer Erin Valent on Pintrest for glimpses into the inspiration of the character and setting.” Zu

Jennifer Erin Valent

Jennifer Erin Valent

Jennifer Erin Valent is the 2007 winner of the Jerry B. Jenkins Christian Writers Guild’s Operation First Novel contest and 2010 Christy Award winner for Fireflies in December. She lives in central Virginia, where she has worked as a nanny for nearly twenty years. A lifelong resident of the South, her surroundings help to color the scenes and characters she writes.

Jennifer, we are so thrilled you agreed to be our featured author this month and I know there is some very blessed person out there who will win your autographed book, Fireflies in December, and fall in love with the series.

When did you know you wanted to write?

I dabbled with it some as a kid, but it was never a passion, just a hobby. It wasn’t until I was in my mid-20’s that I started to consider it more seriously. I started out writing children’s stories then tried my hand at non-fiction articles. But it was when I finished my first novel that the bug really hit. Typing THE END on that first children’s story was a rush, but there was nothing like putting the finishing touches on the novel. That made me realize I was meant to do this.

Do you have a favorite place to sit down and write?  Can you share a picture of your fav writing site?

Nowadays, I always write at my desk. When I first started to write, I used a laptop literally as a laptop… and my chiropractic bills will tell you why I don’t do that anymore. So it’s got to be at the desk. Ideally, it’s a beautiful breezy day with the window open and a mocha on the table beside me. If we’re going full-on dream writing space, it would be oceanfront with the sea air drifting through the screen. Talk about inspiration!

Image 2

Was Fireflies in December your first book? And what inspired you to write it?

No, the first novel I ever wrote was a romantic comedy that I STILL hope will get out to readers someday. In fact, I’ve written 3 ½ novels with those same characters. They still live on my computer, but one day I hope to see them sitting on shelves.

As for general inspiration, I’ve always had a very active imagination. I could daydream with the best of them, so I had plenty of stories percolating inside my head for years. Once I decided to really give genuine effort to trying to write some down, it just made sense. The particular inspirations for the romantic comedies were the brilliant screwball comedies of the 1940’s. For example, consider Cary Grant and Irene Dunne in The Awful Truth… the books are based on that type of staccato dialogue and wacky characters. Tons of fun to write!

How did you come up with the title?

The title Fireflies in December was not original to the story. I started out with no title. In fact, the first sentence of the book was the official name of the Word file for quite some time. I eventually got to thinking about the charm of fireflies and ideas of how I could incorporate them in the title. The title really came from a desire to find the right one to match the feel of the story, and the conversation between Jessie and her dad was the perfect place to weave it all together.

How much of the book is based on fact?

There are no elements of the story that are specifically based on any actual events; however, I did research the time period and events that had happened in history to lend credibility to it. My rule of thumb for this story was, “Could this really happen?” My research gave me the basis for how I felt things could pan out had these people really encountered these events in depression-era Virginia.

Is there a message in your novel that you want readers to grasp?

I very much hope it encourages readers to live rightly even when so much wrong is around them. I have always had a fascination with bullies, on both a large and small scale. Whether it’s a school bully, a mafia boss or a dictator—what makes a large group of people put up with the nonsense of one dominant personality? Were the masses to rise up against the one, surely the masses would win. So what I tend to address a lot in my books is the good winning out over the bad; solitary individuals making the choice to stand firm and knowing that with the Lord’s help, anything is possible. I’m a justice-seeker by nature, and so is Jessilyn, the main character in these books, and I wanted her to stand out as someone who will do what needs to be done no matter the cost.

Jennifer Valent's Book Series Pics.001

What books have most influenced your life?

Undoubtedly, the Bible takes the top spot by far. It’s what I base my life on. I turn to the Word of God for answers, guidance, wisdom… it’s all in there. Also, I’ve been very impacted by Phillip Keller’s A Shepherd Looks at Psalm 23. This book explains the shepherding references found in that passage so that we can better understand the word pictures. It really opens your eyes to how much the Lord loves us and cares for us.

What are you reading now? And who are your favorite authors?  If you are like me I have a lot of favorite authors! 

Right now I’m reading Butterflies in the Garden by Maureen Lang. I’m not very far in, but I’m really enjoying it so far. My favorite author in Christian fiction is Julie Klassen. I’ve read every one of hers and eagerly await each new release. I’ve also enjoyed Tim Downs’ Bug Man series and Eva Marie Everson’s books, as well. And I’ve long ago gone through all of Victoria Holt’s and Helen Macinnes’ books. When an author is no longer writing, it’s so sad when you’ve reached their last title!

Are you working on another book and can you tell us about it?  I hope one comes out soon, because I totally loved this series and I’m looking forward to more great books from you. 

Thank you! That’s so wonderful to hear. I am nearing completion on another novel that is unrelated to the Calloway Summers series, although we don’t have any publication plans… yet! This story is set in Virginia in the late 1940’s and follows a young abused war-widow on her journey to find her identity outside of being a battered wife. But her struggle is complicated when she is faced with the decision of whether or not to defend her former mother-in-law against an abusive relationship of her own. I have really grown to love these characters and have learned a lot while walking in their shoes. Hopefully we will have some good news to share soon.

It’s been awhile since you published this series, what have you been doing since then?

I still work as a nanny, a career I’ve been in for twenty years now and still love. I’m so blessed to have two jobs that I enjoy so much. I have still been writing in the meantime, but some tendonitis issues have kept me from being as active at the computer. It’s been a relief these last few months to be back at work without physical complications.

What are your hobbies, besides writing?

I like to eat! What can I say? I wouldn’t call myself a foodie, but I do enjoy trying new restaurants. I have a wonderful mother and some fantastic friends that I enjoy getting out with to shop, chat, eat, drink coffee… those are some of my favorite times. I also love watching ice hockey (huge Pittsburgh Penguins fan!) and I picked up figure skating in my early twenties. Unfortunately, I don’t get on the ice as much as I used to, but I still love the sheer freedom of gliding around out on the rink.

Do you have any pets?

No, but I grew up with a Shetland Sheepdog named Tammy that I adored. She was like my furry little sister.

Image 1

Is there anything else you want to share with our readers today?

I love interacting with readers. Writing is such a solitary venture that getting a chance to see the books through the eyes of others is a unique experience. I try to actively participate in conversations on my Facebook page and also have a public Pinterest board that readers can contribute to so we can see their personal vision about the characters and settings in the books. Pinterest has been a great place for me to make my vision of the books come alive, so I also have a board that takes a walk through Jessilyn’s world as I see it and one that provides recipes I think would have come from Miss Cleta’s delightfully-scented kitchen. If anyone reads the books and wants to join in the conversations, please feel free to stop by.

Jennifer, thank you so much for taking the time to share yourself with us through this interview. We have certainly enjoyed getting to know you better.  I want to share with our readers your sites in cyberspace, so they can connect with you themselves.  I know I enjoy your Facebook posts and looking at your boards on Pinterest! Just click on the underlined links and you will be directed to Jennifer’s sites.

Jennifer’s website     Jennifer’s Facebook page    Jennifer’s Twitter account     Jennifer’s Pinterest boards

The giveaway starts today, August 1, 2013 and ends on August 10, 2013.  A winner will be randomly selected on August 11, 2013 and notified by email.

August Giveaway August 1-10, 2013

August Giveaway
August 1-10, 2013

  1. You must be 18 years or older and be a U.S. resident.
  2. Leave a comment in the comment section at the end of THIS post. One entry per person.
  3. We will randomly compile a list of everyone who made a comment and will draw a name.  We will then notify you by email giving you further instructions to collect your free book.  DO NOT include your personal mailing address in your comment for security reasons.
  4. If we do not hear back from you in 5 days, we will draw another winner.
  5. Please allow 2-3 weeks for book delivery.
  6. If you win the book it would be really great if you could come back to this post after you have read it and tell us what you thought about the book.

Next Month – September 2013 – our Featured Author will be Denise Weimer and we will be giving away an autographed copy of her book, Sautee Shadows.

91 Comments

Filed under Featured Author & Book Giveaway

91 responses to “Jennifer Erin Valent Interview and Book Giveaway-Make a Comment on This Post to be Entered in the Giveaway!

  1. Hi, Jennifer. I’m Carmen, and I choose the books and lead our book club discussions. I want you to know that I take choosing the books we discuss very seriously. I usually have to read to the last page before I make a decision. Sometimes I read several books before I decide which book would make for a good discussion.
    The case of Fireflies in December was a totally different. After the first chapter, I fell in love with Jessilyn, who is not perfect, but young, impulsive and sometimes downright reckless. Soon after the first few chapters, I felt like I could be part of the Lassiter family. The way her mother softened her father’s rigid views and the way the father protected his family reminded me so much of my own family. They were so real! It’s amazing how easily your dialogue flows and how you make the readers anticipate how the characters feel and think.
    Also, I don’t like formula books. Your plots are so original and have so many twists and turns that they keep a reader’s interest. And then, there are the messages or themes of good against evil, unconditional love, friendship and surrender to the LORD.
    Keep writing, Jennifer. You have the gift. I can’t wait to read another one of your books.

    • I’m with you Carmen! Her books were like no other and the characters were so human and you could identify with them and it just drew you in from the very first sentence! This series are truly Christian classics!
      Debbie

      • Carmen, that means a lot to me. I appreciate that you fell in step with the characters like that and that the book immediately struck a chord with you. Thank you so much for choosing it for your group and sharing it as you have. Completely invaluable to me!

        Debbie, the same goes for you. The way you’ve supported and shared the books is priceless. So grateful to you both!

  2. Kim Edwards

    First of Debbie, thanks for allowing me to be part of the Media Center Group. Next, after those two reviews who would,t want to win this book? I am not familiar with her writings but really want to read this book now. If not the winner, this looks like a must read on the Kindle! Like I said Debbie, with the Book Bub, I have probably downloaded between 300-350 books on my Kindle. When am I going to read all of these? Love my Kindle, but there is something to be said to holding a book and turning the pages…..

    • Yes, if you win you’ll be so happy! But if you don’t, then you need to read these books. They are so wonderful! I fought the e-book thing for a few years, now do most of my reading on my iPad Kindle app. But I still like to get a hold of a real book and actually flip the pages and turn back and search for something. Just the smell of books is delightful…my iPad doesn’t smell at all! 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and entering the giveaway! Feel free to come back anytime…Carmen posts devotionals each Friday (Friday Gleanings by Carmen), we do book reviews and so much more! And most important for you and your kindle…we post free and discounted Christian books! You may want to sign up and follow our blog so you won’t miss out on some really great e-books!
      Debbie

      • Kim, if you get a chance to read them, I truly hope you enjoy the journey with Jessilyn and Gemma! I have to agree on the e-books. I have a Nook, and I love grabbing up the freebies, but I’m still partial to a physical book that I can take in the bathtub, get sandy on the beach and dog-ear any old time I want to. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by the blog today!

  3. Gwen Newman

    I have never read this author but after reading the interview I am very interested. I have enjoyed the same authors mentioned in the interview: KIassen (read all of hers), Everson, and Lang. I am fascinated with fireflies so I would like to see how she develops the story.

    • Gwen, you’ll love these books. Many, many people at our church have read this series and everyone has loved every word! I too, like the authors Jennifer mentioned…I can’t believe she is old enough to even know about Victoria Holt, I read her books way back and loved them and I’ve never heard of Helen Macinnes’ books, so I’m going to check them out too! Thanks for stopping by and entering the contest!
      Debbie

      • Gwen, I eat up Julie Klassen’s books. I can hardly wait until her next one comes out. And her next, and her next… If you read my series, I sincerely hope you enjoy every page! Thank you for visiting the blog!

        Debbie, my mom got me hooked on the Victoria Holt books. Oh, how sad to have finished that last one! Helen Macinnes wrote spy novels and though they’re sometimes a little confusing to follow, she had a great way of pulling me into her stories.

        • Carmen

          I started reading Victoria Holt books in High School and College. After I got married, I continued to read them until I got busy with children and graduated to Christian fiction. Didn’t Victoria Holt write under another name? I read some of those too.

          • She wrote under Philippa Carr also. I used to devour her books when I was younger. With all this talk about her I think I’m going to have to head to the library today and pick one up. I may have already read it, but it’s been so long ago, I know I won’t remember. 😊

            • She was also Jean Plaidy. The woman was definitely prolific!

              • How I have more books to check out! I wonder why she wrote under so many names?
                Debbie

                • I guess the pseudonyms were for different genres, but she had even more than these three. They don’t seem to be available, though. Have you ever read Mary Stewart? In her later books, the writing got too caught up in superstitions, etc. but her earlier stuff was similar to Victoria Holt.

                  • After I wrote my last post I felt a “Google search” coming on, so here’s info from Wikipedia:Eleanor Hibbert (1 September 1906 – 18 January 1993) was a British author who wrote under various pen names. Her best-known pseudonyms were Jean Plaidy, Victoria Holt, and Philippa Carr; she also wrote under the names Eleanor Burford, Elbur Ford, Kathleen Kellow, Anna Percival, and Ellalice Tate. By the time of her death, she had sold more than 100 million books.
                    I checked the Georgia library system and they have books by Victoria Holt, Philippa Carr, and Jean Plaidy. I didn’t check the other names though. I’ve never read Mary Stewart either. I’ll have to check out her earlier stuff. Thanks!! If I live long enough to read all the books I want to read, I’ll have to at least live until I’m 2,000 years old!!
                    Debbie

  4. FYI, I just heard from Jennifer and she is so excited about this post and said she has a full day of nannying so she might not be able to interact with everyone during the day, but she hopes to get here tonight and catch up with everyone. So exciting!!!
    Debbie

  5. Seeing as I am new to the Christian Fiction genre, I’m earnestly seeking book recommendations. The book reviews on this one have me intrigued and I have added it to my “Must Read” list and plan on reading it even if I don’t win. Thank you for sharing and God bless!

    Missy

    • Missy, you’ll love this series. It draws you in at the very first sentence and it will not let you go until you finish reading the last word of the last book! Maybe you’ll win this book and then just have to buy the next two! Thanks for stopping by and entering.
      Debbie

    • Zu

      Missy, add this series to the TOP of your list! Jennifer’s stories were part of my first step into Christian fiction and I’m glad they were. No regrets here! Zu

      • Missy, there are some great offerings in the Christian fiction realm these days. I hope you find some great reads. Prayerfully, my stories will be a good introduction for you! Thank you for coming by the blog today!

        Debbie and Zu… thank you millions! I’m so grateful the books have meant something to you!

  6. Thank you for the invitation and opportunity to win a new book. 🙂 I’m not familiar with Jennifer’s work, but I love reading, and I love finding new Christian authors. I’m looking forward to reading the series.
    Joanie

  7. Interesting interview. 🙂 Sounds like a great book – please enter me in the giveaway. 🙂

    frequentreader19 at gmail dot com

  8. Where I am from fireflys are called lightening bugs. But Lightening Bugs in December doesn’t have the same ring does it? Sounds like an infestation problem. Would love to read this book.

  9. Oh, yay! A new to me author! This one sounds wonderful! Thanks so much for the chance to win. I’m definitely adding this one to my TBR list. 🙂

    Michelle
    Scraphappy71 at sbcglobal dot net

  10. Sharon Timmer

    I have never heard of Jennifer’s books before but I am definitely going to put her books on my Goodreads list to be read – thanks for the chance to win one of her books 🙂

  11. Marsha W.

    I would love to win and then give this book to my friend Zu for her birthday!! She is a HUGE fan!!

  12. Zu

    Debbie, thanks for the great interview questions and Jennifer, thank you for adding some personal pictures to really bring it to life. For anyone who hasn’t read your books or your style of writing, the way you casually invite us into your life through you interview is exactly what readers can expect with your books. I’m looking forward to your next book!

  13. Heather S

    After reading this I can’t believe I’ve never hear of her or her books! PS. Thanks for the chance to win!

  14. Heather Lowery

    I would love to win this book!

  15. Thank you for the chance to win a copy of Fireflies. I’m a Christian Writers Guild graduate and I know how awesome it must be to have won the First Novel contest. Way to go!

  16. Bonnie

    Enjoyed your interview & would love to read your book! Thanks for the opportunity to win a copy!

    bonnieroof60(at)yahoo(dot)com

  17. Bonnie, thank you for taking the time to read the interview and comment. Happy reading!

  18. I would love to read this book as an introduction to Jennifer Erin Valent as a n author. The comment about it being sad when you read the last book of an author rang true for me as I tend to find an author & read everything available by them then wonder where to turn. Jannette Oak was my first Christian author to devour & something was missing when I had no more from her to look forward to.

    • I know what you mean, Sandra. When you are totally involved with the characters in a book, it is sad when it ends! But you’ll be so glad you read this series you won’t be sad for long. These are the kinds of books that I would go back and read again. I read most of Janette Oke’s books also and loved them. If you want some more good author’s and book ideas, go to our section heading (above the book banner) and look for “Hungry Bookworms” and we have a list of books that the Media Center staff put together for great books to read this Summer (and any time of the year).
      Thanks for stopping by and reading about Jennifer and entering the giveaway.
      Debbie

  19. Sandra, yes… coming to the end of an author’s catalog of books, or even just the end of a series, hits me every time. I hate seeing the end of something good! Thank you so much for stopping by. I hope you get a chance to read the books.

  20. Darlene lozada

    Would love the opportunity to receive one of your books

  21. Harvest A. Rich

    What a FANTASTIC interview! I am anxious to read the series now and will add it to my “WTR” list on Goodreads.

    Debbie, I am very impressed with your blog site! I look forward to returning reading more from you.

    May the Lord bless you and keep you!
    ~Harvest

  22. Laura

    Jennifer’s books are still among my favorites to date, and I gave gifted several copies. It was a blessing to read this interview and I hope many more read it and are inspired to purchase the series. They will not be disappointed!

    • Laura, this is such a joy to read. Thank you! I am thrilled that you value the characters and stories enough to want to share them as you have. Thank you, also, for stopping by today and taking time to read the interview and comment!

    • Laura, I’m excited to hear that you have been blessed by these books and have shared them with friends. That’s a huge compliment to Jennifer. God has truly blessed her with the ability to write. Thanks for stopping by and reading the interview and entering the giveaway.
      Debbie

  23. Jennifer’s books, the whole series in fact, inspired me to write my very own christian teen novel. She puts into words the trials and tribulations of such lovable characters, and I couldn’t be happier to have experienced reading her lovely stories. What an awesome giveaway! Someone will be very blessed.

  24. Kristi, I remember chatting with you a while back, and it’s so great hearing from you again! Your comment here has officially blessed my socks off for the day, so thank you tons. Congratulations on your books. Wishing you the very best in your writing!

  25. I enjoy Jennifer and getting to know her on FB. I was taken back into another time and enjoyed every moment of each of her beautifully written books. I remember when I saw the first one released on FB, and got it right away, I couldn’t wait to follow the next two. Now, I’m excited to hear Jennifer’s doing another book, and I like the era and the subject is actually one that I talk about in my soon-to-be released book. It’s important for people to understand there’s a lot that happens behind closed doors we’ll never know about. God Bless as you continue to share His love in your books, Jen.

    • Thank you Dianne for stopping by and offering such wonderful words to Jennifer. I think it must be very special for an author to hear from people who have been touched by their books. I know I was. I can’t wait to read Jennifer’s next book either! Thanks for entering the contest.
      Debbie

      • Diane, I imagine you were not shocked by my statement in this interview about loving food. 🙂 Thank you for stopping by! Excited to hear about our books having similar topics. It’s certainly an important subject! Thanks, as well, for your encouragement. Always appreciated!

  26. I read this book and have the other two on my Amazon wishlist. I LOVED the book. Jennifer Valent is a gifted writer. I would like to win it so I can give it as a gift to someone.

  27. I just want to say how blessed I feel to have had this chance to get to know Jennifer and to share her books with so many people. She has let God use her to truly bless others with her books and hopefully many more books to come. I feel blessed beyond measure by God for giving me this experience to this blog and to get to know so many wonderful Christians around the country and world! When our new youth pastor started, two years ago (has it really been that long?) he was getting to know areas in the church and I telling him about the Media Center and he said, “you should have a blog”. I’m like….blog? I don’t know anything about that! But God led me to attempt this earlier this year and I’ve had lots of help with my wonderful, computer teacher, Ryan, who without him and Josh (youth pastor) I never would have been able to figure this out! Thanks everyone for visiting this and making it so special for Jennifer! She has said a couple of times we have blessed her socks off. Maybe we need to chip in and get her some socks for Christmas!! 🙂
    God bless each one of you beyond measure. Any may all your reading be uplifting to the Lord!
    Debbie
    P.S. The giveaway is still going strong! You have through Saturday, August 10th to enter! The winner will be randomly selected on August 11th and notified by email.

  28. Debbie, this whole experience has been a wonderful thing for me. I will happily have cold feet in exchange for having my socks blessed off this many times! 🙂 There really is no way to thank you for all of your encouragement and for all the ways you’ve shared the books. Praying that, in turn, the Lord blesses your socks off, too!

  29. Thanks Jennifer. The Lord has indeed blessed my socks off!😊

  30. Laura Decatur

    Hi Jennifer! I would absolutely love to read one of your books. Please enter me!

  31. Laura, thank you for stopping by. It’s great to see you here! Wishing you the best in the contest.

  32. I can’t say enough about these books. I love this interview by the way! It gives a lot of insight into this wonderful author. I truly miss the characters! I had a difficult number of years in an abusive marriage and just lost my interest in reading (something I used to LOVE) Finally when a good friend kept going on and on about this series on Facebook I decided I’d get the first book. After that I couldn’t wait to read the next. I was finishing them in a week’s time. (That’s fast for me). One day I got so caught up in something going on with one of the characters the thought quickly crossed my mind to put her on the prayer list at church!. I love it when a character touches your life in that way. I look forward to reading more books by Jennifer, keep ’em coming!

    Btw, you don’t need to put my name in the drawing, I have the book. I just wanted to say what I thought about this series.

    • Pat, thanks for stoping by and sharing your story with us. I find it amazing how God can use Christian fiction to heal us and to teach us and bring us closer to Him. I especially love how you got so caught up with the characters that you wanted to pray for them. I too get totally involved in a good story and will begin to think they are real too! That is the mark of a great writer! I can’t wait to read more books by Jennifer, it’s been too long of a wait…Jennifer, we want more, lots more. (How’s that for pressure?😉). I know Jennifer will be very touched by your comments. God bless you!

  33. Pat, I am so, so sorry to hear about the abusive situation you were in! As this interview states, it’s a subject close to my heart, and I’m relieved to hear you speak of it in the past tense. Prayerfully, the abusive situation has ended and you’re experiencing the Lord’s healing touch. So very grateful the Lord used the books in your life in some way. He never ceases to amaze me!

  34. My thanks to WFBC and Jennifer for this interview.
    First let me say what a joy it is to discover a new author. We readers tend to gobble up books and can run through a writer’s entire body of work faster than kids eat cookies. I am not from the South, but some writers make me wish I were. I believe Jennifer will follow Mary Kay Andrews and Beth Hoffman in stirring my Southern yearnings! I’ll order Fireflies in December today and thanks to the Internet be reading it after just one click.
    I also appreciated the photos you shared and the fact that you still work as a Nanny. I’m an aspiring author and your story has given me renewed hope and motivation.

    • Kelly, first let me say thanks for following our blog now. We hope you will be blessed by the posts. I know you were blessed by Jennifer’s interview and please let me know what you think of Fireflies in December when you finish. You won’t be able to stop at that book, you’ll have to read the entire series. I love to find new authors and it’s great that you have aspirations to be an author. I’ll be keeping up with you on your blog and when you do write a book, I’ll have to read it. Thanks for stopping by. I’ll make sure Jennifer knows of your post, I’m sure she will respond to it, so come back soon to see what she has to say to you!
      Debbie

  35. Kelly, so glad to hear this interview offered you some hope. Writing is a tough business full of long waits and disappointments, but if it’s what the Lord has laid on our hearts, we keep on pushing through! I truly wish you the best in your writing. Thank you for stopping by the blog and taking time to comment. I hope you enjoy every page of the books!

  36. Love it! Thanks for the great info! Time to clear out the clutter

I would love to hear your comment!

