Dark Road Home (Edge of Freedom #2) by Elizabeth Ludwig (5 Stars)

Riveting Historical Romantic Suspense  (5 Stars)

 Scan 131990000

Dark Road Home (Edge of Freedom #2) by Elizabeth Ludwig (Bethany House – 2013)

Be sure to watch the YouTube video below with Elizabeth talking about how she came to write this series, you’ll love it, and her!

First let me say you have to read the first book in this series, No Safe Harbor.  This book continues on with the same plot of hatred between the two warring Irish political groups in America, this time focusing on Cara Hamilton’s brother, Eoghan Hamilton and Ana Kavanagh a friend of Cara’s.  Both Eoghan and Ana have things in their past they want to hide from each other.  But at the same time they are drawn to each other like magnets.  Eoghan has honest feelings for Ana, but he’s so involved with the Fenians, an political organization pushing for change in Ireland, that he gets involved with one of the leaders who is seeking out information on Eoghan’s brother-in-law.  And he needs to get close to Ana to get information, all along he’s being used by another scoundrel who wants to find Ana and do her harm.  I can’t say anymore without giving away more of the story that you need to discover for yourself.  But rest assured, throughout this novel God is working in both of their lives, slowing breaking down the barriers they have put up against Him and letting them learn that God loves them, no matter what!

If you like historical novels, especially Irish immigrant-political mysteries, with some sweet romance, then you’ll be sure to like this series.  If you’ve already read the first book, then hurry out and get this one!  It’s a “hold-your-breath” – “don’t-see-how-they-will-get-out-of-this” type of book.

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author and Bethany House Publishers for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

The Media Center now has both books in this series!

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Dark Road Home (Edge of Freedom #2) by Elizabeth Ludwig (5 Stars)

  1. This book looks SO good (but I haven’t read the first one in the series yet…now I know I should)! Thanks for the review!!

  2. Yes, this is the type of series you HAVE to read in order. You would be completely lost if you started with this book. In fact, it has been a while since I read Book 1 and I was digging deep in my brain to remember what had happened before to get into this book! Of course, that would happen with me if I had just read it last week too!
    I hope you like these books as much as I did. I really enjoyed watching the interview with Elizabeth too! It seems like the 3rd book is already written. I’ll have to do some research on that and see when it’s coming out.
    Thanks for stopping by!
    Debbie

I would love to hear your comment!

