Meet Colleen Coble and Enter Our Sweepstakes for a Book Giveaway (July 1-8, 2013)

The first books I read by Colleen Coble was her Aloha Reef Series and I was hooked! Mystery, romance & Hawaii…how can you go wrong with that combo! Then I went to the Rock Harbor Series and loved it. The mystery and romance and the rescue dogs fasinated me! And now she has teamed up with Robin Caroll to write a series for young adults about the teenagers in the Rock Harbor Search & Rescue series.  I’ve read the first book and I throughly enjoyed it and am looking forward to the sequel that’s coming out in October.  Even though it’s geared toward a younger audience, it was neat to go back to Rock Harbor and get involved with the kids from the adult series and see what mysteries they get involved with.  Colleen has written some stand-alone novels, two that stand out in my mind are Anathema and Abomination, great suspense.  She’s also written a western genre series, The Lonestar Series, and co-written with three other authors, The Smitten Series.  A contemporary, romantic, sometimes funny book.  I fell in love with this make believe town!

Colleen’s latest book is, Rosemary’s Cottage (The Hope Beach Series #2). The first book in this series is, Tidewater Inn, and I thought it would be neat to have one of our Media Center patron’s (my sweet daughter-in-law) to write a little review about this first book.

“Tidewater Inn by Colleen Coble will keep you on the edge of your seat as the story unfolds.  Coble keeps you intrigued as she leads you into a story of romance and suspense.  The main character of the story gives every reader something they can relate to as she deals with family issues, feelings of betrayal, the loss of a friend, a new found love, and some very difficult decisions that must be made.  Inspiring us to live a life of faith and forgiveness, Tidewater Inn is a story worth reading.”   Review by Amy

Colleen Coble

Colleen Coble

Let’s learn a little background information about Colleen:

Best-selling author Colleen Coble’s novels have won or finaled in awards ranging from the Best Books of Indiana, the ACFW Carol Award, the Romance Writers of America RITA, the Holt Medallion, the Daphne du Maurier, National Readers’ Choice, and the Booksellers Best. She has over 2 million books in print and writes romantic mysteries because she loves to see justice prevail. Colleen is CEO of American Christian Fiction Writers. She lives with her husband Dave in Indiana. Visit her website at www.colleencoble.com.

You may contact Colleen’s publicist Katie Bond at kbond@thomasnelson.com

She has a great blog and I recommend you check it out at girlswriteout.blogspot.com

Visit this link for a complete book list of all Colleen’s books.

Now for the good stuff…our interview with Colleen:

What was the first book you wrote?

Where Leads the Heart was my first novel. I call it my “grieving book” since I was mourning the loss of my younger brother Randy, and he became the hero of the story. 🙂

How many books have you written?  And do you have a favorite?

I’ve lost track. Over 40. 🙂 And asking for a favorite is like asking me if I have a favorite child! I have loved working on them all.

You have really branched out into several genres in the past few years.  Contemporary suspense, Amish, western, youth, historical!  Most authors stick with one or two.  How have you managed to write in each genre so well?

Most of them aren’t really all that different. My voice remains the same, and I have a mixture of mystery and romance in all of them. Even the Middle Grade books are mysteries and pull in the characters from Rock Harbor whom I know so well. 🙂 The only real departure is the children’s book for my granddaughter. The Blessings Jar is shipping to stores right now, and the illustrator matched my little Alexa so well!

Image

Which genre do you like best?

Romantic mystery pushes all my hot buttons whether I’m in a historical time period or a contemporary one. I love that tingle from suspense!

I love your new middle-school books that you and Robin Caroll wrote together on the teen girls in your adult Rock Harbor series. How many books will be in this series?

Right now there are two. We adored doing that together! Robin knows Rock Harbor nearly as well as I do. 🙂

cover28782-small

If you could be any character in any book (yours or someone else’s), who would it be?

Bree Matthews. There is a lot of me in Bree so it’s been gratifying how well loved she is by my readers!

I’m eagerly awaiting the release of Rosemary Cottage (Hope Beach #2).  Will there be more in this series or is this it?

Oh yes! I’m working on Mariner’s Walk right now. A historical journal will be found in that novel, and then I plan to write a historical around that. I don’t know the title yet, but it will be a fun project!

Now that Rosemary Cottage is coming out this month, what will be your next book and when will it be released?

The next book out the gate in December is The Smitten Book Club written with my best friends Kristin Billerbeck, Diann Hunt,and Denise Hunter. My next solo novel is The Butterfly Palace and it’s out in January 2014. It’s a historical set in turn of the century Austin. It’s got a gothic feel to it and was super fun to write! There’s also an Aloha Reef novella coming in December as a digital first release titled Holy Night.

I wonder, did you have as much fun writing the Smitten series with 3 of your friends as much as I had reading them?  Will there be a 3rd book in this series?

Oh it was sooo much fun! And yes, The Smitten Book Club will be out in December.

10634544

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

Spoiling my granddaughter! And I still love to read.

Who are some of your favorite authors/books?  If you’re like me, the list would be huge!

Oh the list is long! 🙂 My three friends from Smitten of course. Tons of others. I’m constantly reading.

What are you reading now?

I’m a health nut. Currently I’m reading The Fast Metabolism Diet by Haylie Pomroy.

Thanks for having me! I love to hear from readers. Email me at colleen@colleencoble.com and check out my website colleencoble.com.

Thank you, Colleen for taking the time to share this wonderful interview with us and to donate your latest book.  God bless and keep on writing those great books!

Here is an interview with Colleen and she talks about how she’s always loved writing and she talks about her Lonestar series.

She has some interesting Youtube videos on her website colleencoble.com.  You can watch them all and see for yourself what a sweet woman she is.  After watching the videos, I feel like I know her and could sit down and talk for hours about her books!

Now for the sweepstakes.  Colleen has given us an autographed copy of her new book, Rosemary’s Cottage (Hope Beach #2) to be given away to one very blessed person who comments to this post.

Enter to win our July Sweepstakes

Our July Sweepstakes
An autographed copy of Rosemary’s Cottage

The contest starts today, July 1, 2013 and ends on July 8, 2013.

  1. You must be 18 years or older and be a U.S. resident.
  2. Leave a comment in the comment section at the end of THIS post. One entry per person.
  3. We will randomly compile a list of everyone who made a comment and will draw a name.  We will then notify you by email giving you further instructions to collect your free book.  DO NOT include your personal mailing address in your comment for security reasons.
  4. If we do not hear back from you in 10 days, we will draw another winner.
  5. We promise that this will be a fair drawing, and if this monthly book giveaway becomes a very popular post, then we will have to look into some of the different programs available to generate our winners.  But until then we will do it the old fashioned way and since our pastor and/or youth pastor and/or music minister will be the one drawing the winner, you can be sure it will be fair!
  6. Please allow 2-3 weeks for book delivery.
  7. If you win the book it would be really great if you could come back to this post after you have read it and tell us what you thought about the book.

Next Month – August 2013 – our Featured Author will be Jennifer Erin Valent and we will give away one of her books.

 

21 Comments

Filed under Featured Author & Book Giveaway

21 responses to “Meet Colleen Coble and Enter Our Sweepstakes for a Book Giveaway (July 1-8, 2013)

  1. Maylin B

    I was so excited to see that Tidewater Inn was on sale for my Kindle. I went through the rest of the list of your books to see what I could get. Now I have plenty to read of your books. Thank you for this interview. You are much more personable to me now, and I will think about your interview while I enjoy your books.

  2. I love Colleen’s books! Thanks for the chance to win Rosemary Cottage. I recently ordered Tidewater Inn and look forward to reading this new series. I enjoyed the interview!

  3. Betty Bryson

    I have always loved good mysteries. Now, I have never read any of her books, mainly because I had not heard of her and I seldom go and look for books except at Goodwill. To read a good mystery without the dark language that many authors think they have to inject into a story would be such an enjoyable pastime or hobby. I’d truly like to win this book. It just might get me started on reading again.

    • Oh, Betty! Colleen is an excellent mystery writer and you’ll love her books. Rosemary’s Cottage is #2 in the Hope Beach series and right now (don’t know how long) it’s on sale for the kindle for $1.99. A great price, if you have a kindle. But if not, it’s worth buying one of her books. I loved the Aloha Reef series and Rock Harbor series. I love mysteries and Christian mysteries are the best! No bad language, no sex…just wonderful mysteries all tied in to a wonderful message about God’s love, grace, mercy, & forgiveness! Thanks for entering the contest! If you have a local library I’m sure they have Colleen’s books and if they don’t they can get them from another library in the state system. I do that all the time.

  4. Karen Mathews

    I’ve not read a great mystery in a while. And just think add a great romance with it! Wow

  5. Do we have some of her books in the library? She is a new name to me and it certainly sounds like she is loved by others who have read her work. I would love to get started on some of her other series! I am a sucker for series! I love knowing that the story isn’t over when I close the book.

  6. Melanie

    Colleen Coble is one of my favorite authors! Would love to win a copy of this book. 🙂

  7. Colleen,
    I LOVE your books! I read all the genre’s you write and just when I think I have found a favorite series you top yourself again!! I wish, oh, how I wish I could get what’s in my head on paper and write a book but when I sit down and try…I go blank! You have an amazing gift from God and I can’t wait to read this newest book, Hopefully, sooner than later. 🙂 ❤

  8. I’ve really been enjoying books by Colleen lately and have added this one to my to-read list. Thanks so much for the interesting interview!!

  9. Zu

    The reviews and descriptions sound incredible! I really appreciate this opportunity to not only win a book, but more than that, just to be exposed to new (to me) authors. Our media center is so full of so many good books that I get overwhelmed. I really appreciate taking one author at a time and focusing on them! Can’t wait to start exploring Colleen’s books!

  10. Pingback: Free and Discounted E-Books – July 27, 2013 | WFBC Media Center

I would love to hear your comment!

