A Prayer For The Devil by Dale Allan

Suspenseful Political Intrigue (4 Stars)

A Prayer For The Devil by Dale Allan (Emerald Book Company)

prayer-cover-lg-new1

Luke Miller is a Catholic priest raised in the Jewish faith from a Jewish father, a Catholic mother, and his twin brother on the campaign trail with Brad Thompson who is running for president on a conservative platform.  Things look a little complicated, don’t they?  You don’t know anything yet!  The first chapter, actually the prologue, set the stage for the coming political intrigue that will keep you up reading.

I did like the main character, Father Luke Miller.  He’s caught in a difficult position and he’s determined to find out who is responsible for the actions that happen in the prologue (I’m not giving anything away!).  His concern for the homeless and his trust in certain people is awesome, but what would you expect from a priest.  I’m not Catholic so I don’ have any experience to pull from, but I really liked Father Luke.

There’s lots of action and it was hard to put down.  There were a very few cuss words scattered throughout the book, nothing bad, but I just wanted to mention it in case someone was really opposed to a few bad words, but like I said, it was mild considering what most secular books have today.   For this reason I will not be purchasing the book for our church Media Center, but if it doesn’t bother you, it’s your decision.  Like I said it was very little and mild.

I read the book in two days, it was hard to put down and I’m wondering if there will be a sequel.  I would love to follow Father Luke and his family and see what may happen a few years down the road.

I received a complimentary digital copy of this book from The Book Club Network for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

I would love to hear your comment!

