Am I Sufficient or is God Sufficient?

I’m sure you’ve heard the saying:

“God will never put more on you than you can handle.”

I’ve said it to other people and I’ve said it to myself.  But, what’s wrong with that statement?  When I’ve lost a loved one, does that mean that I can handle it, since God let it happen?  How many times have I seen or heard of other people going through really, really tough situations and saying to myself “I could never handle that, so God knows that and He won’t let it happen to me.”  What about those people….do you think they are stronger?  Are they closer to God?  They have the strength to handle it and I don’t?

Two Sunday’s ago, our pastor, Dr. Phil Wages, preached on this very subject “The Blessings of Grace Giving”.  You may wonder how this worked into his sermon, but trust me, it did.  Here are a few quotes from his sermon:

“Mine and your resources are limited, but God has limitless resources.”

“God will never run out of grace.”

Now for the main topic of this post:

“”God will never put more on you than you can handle.”  That statement, inside that statement, is that you are sufficient.  That God will only put on you what you are sufficient for – folks – you are not sufficient for anything! He will put more on you than you can handle.  Why?  To show that you can’t and He is, that Jesus is sufficient for everything.”

If you would like to listen to the entire sermon, just click HERE and you will be directed to our church website and the sermon podcasts.  Look for May 12, 2013 and listen to the entire sermon.  I’m sure you’ll learn what I did,  God is sufficient, not me – God’s grace is for us at all times!

6 Comments

Filed under Just Me!

6 responses to “Am I Sufficient or is God Sufficient?

  1. Carmen Redding

    I like this, Debbie. What a wonderful way to extract the precious wisdom we receive every Sunday as God speaks through our pastor.

  2. Zu

    nicely summarized.

  3. Amen, Debbie. It really coincides with the verse “MY grace is sufficient for YOU. My strength is made perfect in weakness.”

I would love to hear your comment!

