The House of the Lord is the Sweetest Thing

Friday Gleanings by Carmen

“One thing I have desired of the LORD, That will I seek:  That I may dwell in the house of the LORD All the days of my life, To behold the beauty of the LORD, And to inquire in His temple.” (Ps. 27:4 NKJV)

Chatlos Memorial Chapel The Cove-Billy Graham Training Center, Asheville, NC

Chatlos Memorial Chapel
The Cove-Billy Graham Training Center, Asheville, NC

In February 2012 our Women’s Book Club met to discuss The Sweetest Thing by Elizabeth Musser.  In Chapter 25, Mary Dobbs is questioning God about events that have turned her life upside down.  Mary Dobbs and Ginnie Dobbs (her mother) have this conversation:

“I keep asking God over and over again, “Why? Why?”

Then her mother says:

“That’s not the right question, Mary Dobbs.  You’ll drive yourself crazy asking that question.”

Mary Dobbs says:

“So what am I suppose to ask?”

I love her mother’s answer:

“Honey, I’ve learned to ask not why, but what.  Now that I am in this impossible place, Lord, what do I do next?”

Recently, I have discovered the poems of Ruth Bell Graham.  There is one that addresses this issue.  I would like to share it with you:

I lay my “whys”

Before Your Cross

In worship kneeling,

My mind too numb

For thought,

My heart beyond

All feeling.

And worshiping,

Realize that I

In knowing You

Don’t need a “why.”

Dearest Heavenly Father,

You have all the answers.  When we have questions, we can come to you inquiring.  Sometimes the answer will come, and sometimes the only answer is to take refuge and comfort in the beauty of Your presence.

In the name of Jesus, who came as an answer to all our questions,

Amen!

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Gleanings by Carmen

I would love to hear your comment!

