Rock Harbor Search & Rescue by Colleen Coble and Robin Caroll (4 Stars)

cover28782-smallExciting Mystery for Teens (and even adults who have read the Rock Harbor Series by Colleen Coble)

When two great Christian authors come together to write a novel, you know it’s got to be good.  And this book is no exception.  Colleen Coble wrote The Rock Harbor series for adults and it’s an excellent series about a woman-dog search and rescue team.  Exciting to the end!  And now she’s teamed up with Robin Caroll to write a series for middle school age kids (probably girls will like it better) about the kids in the adult series.

The story is about Emily O’Reilly whose step-mom, Naomi, is part of a dog search and rescue team with Bree Nicholls. Emily loves the adventure and wants to get a puppy from Bree to start training and become a search and rescue responder herself.  A great aspiration for a middle school girl.  Only she becomes suspect in the theft of a $1,000 necklace…and the mystery begins.  I’m very much older than a teenager, but I enjoyed the book myself and plan on buying it for our church library.  I want to get some teenage girls to read the book and I’ll even let the adults that read The Rock Harbor series know about this book, because I think they will enjoy it too.

The only two problems I had with the book were: #1 – it made passing references to incidents that happened in the adult Rock Harbor series and for me, it was not enough information to fully understand the background.  But maybe teen readers will think it’s enough.  #2 – I did not like Emily’s dad reaction to the suspicion of his daughter stealing the necklace.  He didn’t really believe her when she told him she didn’t do it and she seemed like a girl that had not given him any reason to ever question her motives before.  But I guess with a teen novel, you have to have some parent-child conflict.  But still, it just didn’t set well with me.

If it weren’t for those two things I would have given it a 5 star, but in all fairness, I felt like since I had problems with two areas in the story I should give it a 4 star.  But still, I loved the book and am anxious to get it and see what some of our teenagers think of the novel.  It’s a great novel with wonderful Christian morals. I personally want to read the sequel.

I received a complimentary digital copy of this book from NetGalley and Thomas Nelson for my honest opinion and did not receive any compensation for a favorable review. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

2 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews

2 responses to “Rock Harbor Search & Rescue by Colleen Coble and Robin Caroll (4 Stars)

  1. Pingback: Rock Harbor Search and Rescue – Free Book Download – Ends May 31, 2013 | WFBC Media Center

  2. Pingback: New Arrivals in the Media Center – May 2013 | WFBC Media Center

I would love to hear your comment!

