Damascus Countdown by Joel C. Rosenberg

Scan 130810000This is the final book in the Twelfth Imam Series by Joel C. Rosenberg and it’s bittersweet for me.  I could read about David Shirazi and more international intrigue for several more books, but I don’t know if my nerves could take anymore!  This is the kind of book that takes you inside the pages and you experience it all and sometimes I had to just lay it aside to take a breather and relax.  Joel Rosenberg really knows how to write and take a reader captive with his storyline and characters.

If you haven’t read the first two books in this series, The Twelfth Imam and The Tehran Initiative, don’t read this one until you do. It’s definitely not a stand-alone novel.  They all build on each other and the characters grow and the plot has enough twists and turns to keep you dizzy!

In this final book, David Shirazi (aka Reza Tabrizi & code name Zephyr) is on a doomsday mission that takes him straight into a nuclear bomb.  He is having to deal with tragic family issues and finally coming to terms with his feelings with, Marseille Harper, a childhood sweetheart.  But he’s a long way from home and no time to deal with it because he is jumping from country to country trying to outsmart the Twelfth Imam and try to stop a complete nuclear disaster.  And honestly, you can’t anticipate everything that happens to him.  So just sit back, hold on, and read until you are tense and can’t catch your breath and put the book down and relax with a glass of iced tea and cookies…then you’ll be ready to pick the book back up and go full throttle again!

I loved Dr. Birjandi, the best scholar of Shia Islamic history and secret follower of Jesus.  When he is teaching two new converts and answering their questions as to what the Bible prophecy is concerning Iran and Damascus I was spellbound.  I have never heard it explained in a way that made so much sense.  I have actually taken notes and put it in my Bible inside the Book of Isaiah to keep as a reference.  I know that the author, Joel Rosenberg is a very highly respected teacher in this area and he always seems to be right on with his interpretations of Bible prophecy.

I have read some of the lower ratings on Amazon and I do hope that they won’t stop you from reading this series.  Yes, you should know right up front that this is an extremely Christian work of fiction.  And yes, Jesus Christ is mentioned a lot…for me that’s what makes this book so wonderful.  I loved it when David witnessed to his friend while they were right in the middle of a firestorm and headed toward certain death.  David asked his friend, Torres…”if we don’t make it through this thing–and you know as well as I do there’s a real chance that we won’t–do you know where you’re going?”  “What do you mean?”  “I’m saying when you die, whenever that is, do you know if you’re going to heaven or hell?”  and then David explained, in the best way I’ve read in a novel, the plan of salvation.  That’s what it boils down to…do you know?

If I could give this book more than 5 stars I would.  It’s a thrill-a-minute, riveting, suspense filled book that will keep you on the edge of your seat the entire 465 pages! Whew!  What a ride!

We have both fiction series by Joel Rosenberg in the Media Center and we also have his non-fiction book, Epicenter.  If you are a member of our church, come on by and check these books out and start on an amazing adventure.  If you are reading this blog from around the country or even around the world, you can purchase these books, or maybe your church has a Media Center and you can check them out.  Also, you can check your local/state libraries to see if they have them to check out, I know Georgia libraries have them.  Happy Reading!

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

I would love to hear your comment!

