Having a Mary Heart in a Martha World by Joanna Weaver – 5 Stars!

I must admit two things right up front:Scan 130610000

  1. I love fiction and very rarely read non-fiction.
  2. It took me about 5 months to read this book.

Now that the confession is over with I must tell you that this is a fantastic book!!!  The reason it took me so long to read it had nothing to do with the author or the book, but me…it just seemed like there was always a great fiction book calling my name.  But I should have stuck this one out and finished it in record time.

I am truly a “Martha”, but I’m also “lazy”, so that makes me a “lazy Martha”.  But I want so much to be a “Mary”.  Sitting in the living room with Jesus and listening to His every word.  Being so devoted to Him I would pour out my entire life at His feet as a love offering.  But I also want to be a “non-lazy Martha” and be out delivering food to the shut-ins, the grieving, the poor & volunteering for every activity at church. But neither personality comes easy to me.  And Joanna Weaver does not make me feel guilty about this.  Neither does Jesus!

Joanna says in the first chapter, “Just mention the names Mary and Martha around a group of Christian women and you’ll get knowing looks and nervous giggles.  We’ve all felt the struggle.  We want to worship like Mary, but the Martha inside keeps bossing us around.”  Isn’t that true?

Throughout this book, Joanna takes us on a journey, her journey, our journey, from being in a kitchen surrounded by menus, grocery lists, dishes, and all the junk that seems to accumulate on the counters and the kitchen table, to the living room, sitting calmly at the foot of Jesus, soaking in every word and not feeling guilty about our “to do lists”.

She finally ends this book with a revelation that you can do both, it doesn’t have to be one or the other, so long as we put Jesus first then “both of us” can become one.  Surrendering all to Jesus.  The struggle doesn’t end, we are after all humans and we constantly fail, but we have Jesus to pick us up, dust us off, and say “Follow me”.

You’ll love this book, just like I did.  The writing was excellent and the stories compelling.  You’ll want, just like me, to go out and get her other books. I just hope this time I can read it quicker!

Please visit Joanna Weaver’s website to read more about her and her books.  She also has a blog and a Bible reading guide and much more.

We have this book in the Media Center, so now that I’m finally finished, you can come in and check it out.

Leave a comment

Filed under Book Reviews

I would love to hear your comment!

