Friday Gleanings by Carmen – March 1, 2013

“Sanctify them by the truth; your word is truth.” John 17:17 (NIV)

My granddaughter, who is 8 years old, is full of questions.  Recently, we were working on a craft project together, and out of the blue she asked me, “Grandmommy, why do people speak different languages?”

“Well…” I hesitated.  “Do you remember the story of the Tower of Babel in the Bible?”

“Can you read it to me?” Before I could respond, she was running to get my Bible.

Confusion_of_TonguesFinding Genesis 11, I began to read: 

1 “Now the whole world had one language and a common speech… 4  Then they said, “Come, let us build ourselves a city, with a tower that reaches to the heavens, so that we may make a name for ourselves; otherwise we will be scattered over the face of the whole earth.” 

I explained that God wanted mankind to fill the earth, but instead they wanted to remain where they were.  The reason they wanted to build the tower was to build a name for themselves and had nothing to do with honoring God.

8  “So the LORD scattered them from there over all the earth, and they stopped building the city. 9 That is why it was called Babel—because there the LORD confused the language of the whole world. From there the LORD scattered them over the face of the whole earth.”

When I finished reading the passage, she had a priceless look of delight on her face, and she said: 

“The Bible has the answer to everything.” Now it was my turn to be delighted.  

When I was growing up, encyclopedias were advertised.  They were as crucial to a child’s education as computers are today. In one commercial, a child would ask: “Why is the sky blue, Daddy?”  The answer, of course could be found in the encyclopedia.  Purchasing this learning tool would assure a child of a bright future.

While it is true that encyclopedias and computers have made information more accessible for success in this life, the Bible provides the answers that will open up the door to eternal life.  So, yes, the Bible has the answers we need in this life and the next provided we open it, read it, and refer to it often.

Dearest Heavenly Father,

Thank you for your Holy Word.  Your Word gives me life, strengthens me, and gives me hope, causing me to rejoice.  Your Word is a lamp that lights my way and a two-edged sword. Your Word convicts me and washes me, nourishes and regenerates me.  Jesus is the Word made flesh.  He saved me and dwells within me.  Thank you for recording His story for us to delight in daily. May it’s power move me to godly words and actions.

In Jesus’ precious name, 

Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Gleanings by Carmen

I would love to hear your comment!

