January 25, 2013

8 Give to the Lord the glory due His name;
Bring an offering, and come into His courts.
9 Oh, worship the Lord in the beauty of holiness!
Tremble before Him, all the earth. (Psalm 96:8-9 NKJV)

In the old, old cartoons, now I mean the really old ones, like Bugs Bunny and Porky Pig, there was a hunter named Elmer Fudd.  Elmer had two voices warring in his head.  The angel voice and that other voice (you know the one).  The voices were visible to those of us watching the zany cartoons.  One materialized into a real angel and coaxed Elmer into doing the right thing.  The other voice was also an angel, but an angel with little horns and a pitchfork well concealed from Elmer’s view.

Some Sunday mornings, I feel those two little angels warring in my head.  Some mornings I have the passing thought of skipping church.  That other angel is very persuasive.  “Maybe you need to stay here today”, I hear a soothing voice say to my subconscious, as I try to wake up.  “You could worship the Lord here today, and even go for a walk later and meditate on His Word while you enjoy the scenery.  It’s probably raining out there… ”

Does this sound familiar to anyone?  Or am I the only one to ever be tempted this way?  I am so glad that my guardian angel has a beautiful, sweet, persuasive and firm voice.  “Worship the Lord in His sanctuary. Worship God in the beauty of holiness”, the voice said.  Then I started hearing a chorus I love:

“I will worship You in the beauty of holiness
And I will worship You for the things You’ve done in me
And when my life’s complete
I’ll place my crown at Your feet
And I will worship You my King on bended knee.”

I got on my laptop and looked up the lyrics.  The chorus is by Matthew Ward, and the words convicted me.  I knew they were from a Psalm, so I looked up the Psalm.  The words of Psalm 96 invite us to give the LORD the glory due His name.  The word LORD is capitalized for emphasis.  To give glory to the Lord, we are to come into His courts and bring an offering.  He is the ONE who can make the whole earth tremble.  It’s time to get ready for church.

Dearest Heavenly Father,

You are everywhere.  There is nowhere that I can hide from your presence.  However, You want us to make the choice to come to You.  LORD, we are so blessed to be able to come into your presence, to assemble with other believers for study and worship.  How can we say no, when the King invites?  You have our “yes.”

In the name of Jesus who made long journeys to the temple to worship with other believers,

Amen

Leave a comment

Filed under Friday Gleanings by Carmen

I would love to hear your comment!

